We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Beggar's Knap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beggar's Knap
Ranked #23 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed for a night, can only agree with other good comments about Mark. He kept me informed by text on my journey down, and was a perfect host
Would definitely stay again.
Music buffs - ask to see marks. office collection!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Beggar's Knap
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

A real find! Only stayed one night and really just needed a bed for the night. However this place is full of character, as well as being clean and comfy. Others have already commented how friendly & welcoming Mark was. Would definately recommend for a short break

Room Tip: The room with 4 poster bed was lovely. Could hear some noise as pub opposite but not very loud and...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Booked in for a 1 night stay. Mark was very welcoming and helpful. Was an interesting b&b in a great location, plenty of pubs and restaurants in walking distance. A nice breakfast cooked breakfast too. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Even before arriving, Mark was the perfect host, wanting to ensure we had the best of stays. As we took every room In the b&b we were perhaps not the easiest of groups, all arriving at different times (sometimes without warning due to last minute wedding prep!). However, Mark took this all in his stride. Although the rooms are not perfect, the 4 poster bed is impressive and there is a good atmosphere. Breakfast was very good and when we locked ourselves out on our wedding night, Mark was on hand to let us in at 1:30 am! Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The 4 poster bed is impressive
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polkdadotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed for one night wanting to look around Dorchester and the Dorset coast. Mark could not have been more helpful giving advice on what to do and where to go, the breakfast is first class proper sausages and real bread. We chose the four poster bed the room was spacious and well appointed, despite a pub being over the road and it being a Saturday night we had no problems sleeping. In fact I liked the place so much I'm considering giving Mark an offer he can't refuse. Well it worked for Victor Kiam!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Mark was very attentive to our needs. The service was excellent and B&B was lovely. Very quaint. Mark has good taste in ornaments! He even managed to cater for Vegans. Bravo old Boy.

Hope you enjoy your stay there too!

Room Tip: Communicate with Mark and you will be ok!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed for one night in February and stayed in a room with four poster bed. We were welcomed so graciously by the host Mark, who we could keep informed of our predicted arrival time via text message which I thought was a lovely idea and helped to keep atmosphere friendly and informal.
Four poster bed extremely comfortable and bay window over looking Dorchester an added bonus.
Breakfast was cooked very well with an array of cereals and fruit to choose from if we wished.
We will recommend Beggars Knap to anyone visiting Dorchester in the future, thank you again.

Room Tip: Definitely worth a little extra expense for the four poster bedroom. :)
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.0 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Tea House
The Old Tea House
#17 of 45 in Dorchester
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beggar's Knap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beggar's Knap

Address: 2 Weymouth Avenue, Dorchester DT1 1QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range: £85 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beggar's Knap 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Beggar's Knap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beggar's Knap Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing