We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Beautiful !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beggar's Knap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beggar's Knap
Ranked #23 of 50 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

It was an unplanned trip, very happy to have found Beggars’ knap... was wonderful to step back in time in the beautiful victorian home restored to its true beauty..

Coming from hotel industry ourselves it was such a relief to stay in a place so different from usual hotels, full of character and homely

Cannot ask for a better host, Thank you Mark !

Room Tip: Sunday market is just a minute away ! dont miss it .. jaw dropping bargains !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    23
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
42
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Two night stay in November over the weekend. Perfect location for walking around Dorchester. Useful on site car park although it is a bit tight. Mark was the perfect host and we can only echo all the good feedback from earlier reviews. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royalpalmbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed one night at Beggars Knap yesterday evening. We were met by Mark who gave a us a warm welcome and showed us to our room. The room was large with a large very comfortable bed and a good sized en suite. Breakfast was again very good, well cooked and plenty for a good appetite. The house is impressive and very tastefully appointed. The house is well located so every part of Dorchester is within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed her for a couple of nights and had an extremely pleasant stay. The house is very close to the town and the railway station, and whilst Mark appears to do just about everything himself, he is the most charming and helpful host you could wish for.

The bedroom we had was very comfortable, with good beds and we slept well.The full English breakfast is also very good, and this is one of the few English hotels where a decent cafetiere of coffee is provided.

We were here to work, but it would be a great place to use as base for visiting the town and surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isopahajussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed for a night, can only agree with other good comments about Mark. He kept me informed by text on my journey down, and was a perfect host
Would definitely stay again.
Music buffs - ask to see marks. office collection!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

A real find! Only stayed one night and really just needed a bed for the night. However this place is full of character, as well as being clean and comfy. Others have already commented how friendly & welcoming Mark was. Would definately recommend for a short break

Room Tip: The room with 4 poster bed was lovely. Could hear some noise as pub opposite but not very loud and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Booked in for a 1 night stay. Mark was very welcoming and helpful. Was an interesting b&b in a great location, plenty of pubs and restaurants in walking distance. A nice breakfast cooked breakfast too. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
0.0 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 50 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#10 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Court
Little Court
#5 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beggar's Knap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beggar's Knap

Property: Beggar's Knap
Address: 2 Weymouth Avenue, Dorchester DT1 1QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beggar's Knap 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beggar's Knap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beggar's Knap Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing