We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No fresh coffee and a cheapskate breakfast!”
Review of Beggar's Knap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beggar's Knap
Ranked #21 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No fresh coffee and a cheapskate breakfast!”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

What the previous reviews fail to mention is that Beggars Knap offers what might be the most disappointing B&B breakfast in England. Asked if there was any fresh coffee, the owner Mark lied and said there wasn’t any in case there were guests who took offense to the smell. He added that he thought there wasn’t enough room on the breakfast table to provide guests with Caféteries. Both coffee and tea were of the cheapest possible variety and were completely unappetizing when mixed with the lukewarm water that came out of the thermos jugs laid out on the table. As for the English breakfast, well it was pretty limited choice wise, and out of the bits I had the eggs and mushrooms were extremely rubbery and the tomato was watery. Mark also carefully metered out the orange juice by the thimbleful. There were also some cheap and nasty looking yoghurts in the corner of the room and a Tupperware box of cornflakes. I guess if all you fancy is toast and cereal, and you’re not a tea or coffee drinker you’ll probably be fine. Bon Appetit!

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cmm1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    24
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
45
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2010

What a stroke of luck to find this place and a pleasure to stay here. Our double room was huge and full of period features with a very nice en suite bathroom. Mark, our landlord was friendly, helpful and gave us sound advice about where to eat etc. Breakfast was delicious and served quickly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepyj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We were only staying one night in Dorchester and therefore wanted to stay somewhere close to the town. We couldn't have been closer! The house has been carefully restored over the past few years and has been furnished very well. Mark made us all feel extremely welcome and gave a great recommendation for dinner - a proper english pub with great grub! We were given some sightseeing recommendations before we headed back to London and a fairly decent breakfast! It's so reasonable and such good value, I almost want to keep it a secret!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at Beggar's Knap Guesthouse for a short Spring break. It served as a great base to explore Dorset - when you leave the pleasant town of Dorchester you will find yourself amidst some beautiful English countryside, a short drive from the coast and many other interesting and scenic places (Corfe Castle, Weymouth, Lulworth Cove, Swannage were a few we visited). The accomodation was of a very good quality, rooms are spacious, clean and well furnished - with a regal feel that is not old and chintzy... living up to the 4* status. The hotel owner, Mark, was really welcoming and helpful - keen to accomodate our requirments and give some useful advice on what to see and where to go to maximise our time. The friendly service made us immediately comfortable and so it was not a difficult decision to stay an extra night at Beggar's Knap when we decided to extend the weekend. We would recommend this hotel to anybody, and would readily stay again if in the area or passing though.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisReviewLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

I stayed at Beggar's Knap for one night, and found it to be a comfortable, friendly place. Its location is ideal for accessing the shops and restaurants in Dorchester, and it is within easy walking distance of both train stations.

Although I was staying on my own, I was offered a double room which turned out to have a four-poster bed in it - a nice surprise! The room was clean and very spacious, and the bed was ridiculously comfortable! The ensuite bathroom was a reasonable size, but the shower over the bath had no wall bracket meaning that a shower involved holding the shower head with one hand - not a huge problem for one night, but I would probably have expected a 'proper' shower given the standard of the room. Also, the sink wasn't particularly clean.

The owner, Mark was friendly and helpful - as there was a large group of guests all having breakfast at the same time as I had planned to in the morning (meaning that there would not be much space in the dining room), he kindly offered to bring a breakfast tray to my room at the requested time.

Overall, Beggar's Knap is a comfortable, conveniently located place to stay, with a friendly and obliging host.

  • Liked — Friendly owner, and the four-poster bed!
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freckle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Only stayed the one night in a non en suite room, but it was clean and comfortable and a super breakfast.
Needed a hairdrier and accessible mirror but Mark was extremely helpful and I'd have no hesitation in recommending the B&B to anyone.

  • Liked — The obvious effort & hard work put into the decor
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieTorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Stayed 2 nights and had fabulous time it is very central (easy walk to the pubs etc) and allows dogs so "emptying spots" close by very helpful. Mark the owner was excellent & couldn't be more obliging but Dorchester is a very quiet town. The Blue Raddle pub has good Bitter and welcoming.

  • Liked — owner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank penfolds_bin_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Lantern House
#18 of 45 in Dorchester
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beggar's Knap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beggar's Knap

Property: Beggar's Knap
Address: 2 Weymouth Avenue, Dorchester DT1 1QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beggar's Knap 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beggar's Knap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beggar's Knap Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing