We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese I know!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Lotus

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Lotus
Ranked #103 of 122 Restaurants in Dorchester
Cuisines: Fast food, Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Dorset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Chinese I know!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I've been going to this Chinese for years. Best Chinese I have ever had. Chips topped with barbecue sauce is one of my favourites! I would love to know how they make the sauce. I love the pancake roll & the young chow fried rice too. The people there are always friendly although I do sometimes think the kids that work there seem very young but I understand they are working to earn pocket money. I live 15 miles away from this Chinese and I happily drive there when I feel like having my usual!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“sweet n sour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

i love the sweet n sour its the best in dorch, n ive had the pork balls n chicken balls infact im about 2 order sum now. if there has bin an inspector there then i guess they have gone dwn hill a bit, but its not affected the taste of the food ive eaten!!!!!! n ive eaten there for yrs.its a gud service there and its not suppose 2 b a resturant its a takeaway n it gets real busy, its a gud place n now i guess the inspectors have bin in, in can only get better:-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I remember when the Golden Lotus was the chinese to go to in Dorchester but lately it's gone downhill.

Their Food Standards Agency rating is now a 1 - if you've watched food inspectors and seen how awful the places are which get a 3, imagine how bad you have to be to get a 1!

They don't offer a delivery service - the other Chinese takeaways in Dorchester offer a free delivery service.

The chicken balls taste suspicious! The beef is very dry and chewy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JoLuJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

The best pork balls you will ever have! I now live 10 miles away and often drive there just for these. Always really friendly and clean.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank string1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Regular user, always good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Personally I prefer Indian, but my wife doesn't. I often compromise and we do use the Golden Lotus.
Our genuine opinion is that this place offers good value and quality. I know the butcher who supplies them, who advises that they only buy the best meat, never offcuts or seconds.
Their curry has a good flavour and is a fine alternative to my preferred Indian. The place is always busy, which speaks for itself. You can see them preparing the food in clean surroundings, and I have to applaud their work rate. Shame they don't do a Vindaloo.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigChiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Lotus also viewed

Dorchester, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to Golden Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing