We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful and very friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Field Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Field Farmhouse
Ranked #14 of 50 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful and very friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed for just one night after visiting friends locally. We couldn't have found a better place to stop over. Karen is everything others have said here, delightful, helpful and friendly. The room was immaculate, very clean, wonderful view and the bathroom was superb. More like a boutique hotel than a B & B in some respects. Incredible value and we would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed Monday to Friday at Field Farmhouse, Karen gave us a warm welcome and was a perfect hostess, friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were lovely and varied. We had a room overlooking a hill with sheep which was delightful. The en suite was perfect, with plenty of hot water, the rooms and en suite were spotlessly clean and this high standard was maintained throughout our stay. Parking is easy and safe. We had a wonderful time. Thank you Karen. Odette and Alan Stidder

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the hill which we found delightful and calming, this was on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluebell211247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We had selected this farmhouse by using Trip Adviser ourselves which had wonderful reviews - we were not disappointed! Karen is a lovely hostess, the bedroom spotless, comfortable and we needed for nothing. To the lovely toiletries to the coffee and biscuits on a tray. The English breakfast was cooked to order and wonderful fresh fruit. The outlook onto the farm was awesome and one of the reasons for selecting this property. The property Is very close to Dorchester (and the markets), Serne Abbas and not far from Weymouth (one of the places we were visiting also). The attention to detail in the bedroom and the breakfast room was amazing!We were also very greatful for the umbrella's Karen lent to us. Definitely worth staying there!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheBarrsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Spotless, warm and comfortable stay at Tack Room cottage. Everything provided, even down to the bottles of water on the welcome tray and personal toiletries in the bathroom.Karen was a delight and nothing was too much trouble. A perfect location for discovering the lovely countryside. We will certainly be recommending this ideal holiday stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Longdistantclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Very very friendly hostess! We were welcomed by name immediately and shown to our room. It was just what we were looking for after a long day on the road. The bed and room were comfortable and adequately sized. Bathroom had plenty of hot water. The entire property is beautifully landscaped with lots of flowers everywhere - very picturesque! Full English breakfast was very good and prepared to order. The small villages nearby are nice to walk through and have excellent pubs (E.G. The Royal Oak).

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank crusadercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

The family quest house was extremly friendly and in a lovely location.
Nice bedroom and 4* bathroom. The owner was very helpful. When we booked, they sent a confirmation letter including with all useful informations and with a direction map. Nice quiet area and peaceful stay, safe carpark. The breakfast was brilliant, with fresh fruit from the garden.
3 miles away in Carne Abbas you can have dinner in The New Inn.
Lovely meal, which we enjoyed.
We definetly would like to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cabbage57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the B&B. Lovely room with stunning views out over the hills. The room was immaculate, so clean with a superb en-suite and lovely attention to detail. A great choice of cereal and fruit followed by toast and a cooked breakfast. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Loupin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
2.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#4 of 50 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#10 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.0 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 50 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little Court
Little Court
#5 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Field Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Field Farmhouse

Property: Field Farmhouse
Address: Godmanstone, Dorchester DT2 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen & Kevin Welcome you to Field Farmhouse B&B and quality Self Catering Holiday Cottages where we pride ourselves on first class accommodation, food and friendly service. Situated in panoramic the Cerne Valley famous for its naked giant carved deep in the chalk hillside. The county town of Dorchester is only 4 miles away and is the perfect place to browse the wide variety of shops and museums or relax in one of the many country tearooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Field Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Field Farmhouse Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing