We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good nights stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fox Inn
Ranked #10 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good nights stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at 'The Fox Inn' on Friday 23rd August for a nights stay in preparation for visiting Monkey World.

Check-in was friendly and efficient, the room was very nice and had a certain rustic charm about it. The bathroom was a little small and could do with a bit of an update but that's me being picky and certainly in no way takes away how good this place is.

We had a lovely meal on the evening, and despite the wrong meal coming out at first the staff were very apologetic and immediately remedied the situation and were very kind in not charging us for that part of the meal.

The big comfy bed led to a fantastic nights sleep.

The breakfast was very good and caters to everyone's needs, be it toast/cereal or a cooked breakfast if that's what you prefer.

Overall an enjoyable nights stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisLGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    89
    40
    25
    22
See reviews for
59
190
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were not offered any drinks prior to being seated in a dark humid corner which lacked atmosphere ie no background music, the Landlord finally served INCORRECT drinks and managed to spill half a pint over the table, AND our child without offering to replace the drink, he merely wiped the menu! This then was out weighed by the EXCELLENT food which was well prepared and presented... however due to our starter plates not being cleared our mains took far too long, no fault to the kitchen staff, just poor front of house service. We finally gave up and did not order deserts as not one of the owners/managers returned to us or bothered to see if we needed another round of drinks. Sadly won't be returning any time soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, Hampshire. UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Fox on Saturday 17th August for a B&B.
The room was superb, with a most comfortable bed and good bathroom with shower. The water pressure takes a bit to be desired, but all OK.
The breakfast was delicious with selections from a full English to scrambled eggs with bacon or smoked salmon, cereals and fruits.
The landlords were very accommodating and friendly and nothing was any trouble. Will definitely stay there again if the needs must

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hotel just went for lunch as we live locally

Have previously used this establishment on numerous occasions for Sunday lunch. Usually an excellent carvery. But not this time.

having taken our drinks orders we went to the servery.

The vegetables looked as though they had been left under the hot lamps for some time. They looked dry and tired. This was surprising as we were the first customers of the second sitting. Probably they had been left over from the first

we got bsck to our table and had to ask for our drinks

as for the meal our observations turnedout to be correct.

The beef and pork were lovely but the veg was very poor. Parsnips were really tough,broccoli overcooked and yellow,cauliflower cheese you could taste the flour,roast potatoes again tough and the Yorkshire pudding tough and lacking in taste

a very poor meal

the service was also poor. When I went up for some more beef had to wait to be served.

Not a Good experience this time


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nigel_underwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were a little disappointed.The valance on the bed was dirty and there was a tear in the duvet cover.The evening meal was ok although my friends steak was quite raw although it was supposed to be medium,we complained about one of the meals but no management came out to see what was the matter.The young staff were very pleasant and professional.The breakfast on the first day was quite different to the same breakfast on the 2nd day perhaps there was a different chef on.The setting is lovely and it is dog friendly,which is a big plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ollyandgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

What a find. Charming inn with amazingly friendly staff, friendly locals and a bed I really didn't want to get out of it was so comfortable! Breakfast was great and the staff most obliging to our requests (we wanted something a little healthier than the full English).

Great location to stop off if heading to the south coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Two night stay in room ten. The room is a bit small and a bit shabby, not having been refurbished which I think the new owners are in the process of doing.The bed was small, 4' 6" I think but comfortable. The bathroom En suite was small, but the shower was nice, easy to use and with lots of hot water. We ate on both nights at the resteraunt. Both times the food was lovely and well presented. They were using college pupils as staff which despite there inexperience made the meal more enjoyable as without exception they were polite and friendly. Also I thought the overall food and wine prices were reasonable.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The food was great, the atmosphere was nice, the surrounding area is lovely, but the room was a bit of a let down at £80 per night.

Room Tip: Not room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarySew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
9.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
9.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#9 of 45 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#4 of 45 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Property: The Fox Inn
Address: Ansty, Dorchester DT2 7PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Dorchester
The Fox Inn Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing