We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice brunch”

Potters Cafe Bistro
Ranked #13 of 123 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
615 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Nice brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stopped in the rai for nice coffee ad cake. I had a beet root salad with feta and egg. Nice would have preferred softer egg. Nice atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattyA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    71
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine lunch menu, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We came for lunch on a busy Friday and found the service excellent; the servers were helping families with pushchairs find space, and generally showed a very friendly and attentive approach. My partner had a fresh wild garlic fettuccine, and I had a beetroot, feta and duck egg salad. I found the food very honest, with high-quality ingredients, like fresh, robust leaves in the salad and large chunks of cheese and beetroot. We both, however, felt they could have had slightly more oomph and cohesion in the flavours.
The menu was reasonably priced, and they have a good selection of drinks, including local Dorset beer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurLyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

excellent food and service lovely atmosphere, has an open fire for the colder days quiet location off the main high street in a side street would go there again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank peaches217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food was great with atmosphere a plenty.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile


You can generally tell the quality of a backstreet cafe by how busy it is. Potters was Choc a bloc at lunchtime, but we got a nice table on the wonky 1st floor.

Our food came pretty quickly after we ordered it, and we had more than plenty to fill us up.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone, there were plenty of families taking advantage of the children's menu, I will definitely be heading back....

Helpful?
Thank variusrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely place good food and pleasant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Was in for breakfast today we enjoy cooked breakfast and a yummy chocolate brownie . The service was quick and staff were polite &heplful

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potters Cafe Bistro also viewed

Dorchester, Dorset
 
 

Been to Potters Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing