We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of The Casterbridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Casterbridge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 28 October 2007

Hugely overrated in my opinion. This is a B&B trying to be a hotel. The room was absolutely tiny, very stuffy, and completely overpriced for what was on offer. The management were very slick and professional but also very unhelpful with a genuine problem.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicChantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    34
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
71
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2007

What a welcoming and friendly hotel. This hotel is such a refreshing change from other hotels - personal touches abound. Breakfast was certainly the best breakfast we have ever eaten anywhere. This hotel represents extremely good value for money and we shall return again and again.

  • Liked — breakfast, friendly staff and good value for money
  • Disliked — had been warned about parking, so were prepared - actually not a problem
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travel081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We were greeted by a grumpy man on reception which wasn't a great start. The bedroom was acceptable - a little dated and in need of refurbishment. The private patio was tiny and not somewhere you could sit to enjoy the fresh air. The bathroom was cold, damp and offered little in the way of toiletries.

On the other hand, breakfast was excellent and the waiting staff were polite and friendly.

Parked in a local car park for £3.20 per day.

I would not stay here again at this price - The Kings Arms up the road sounded much nicer for less money!

  • Liked — BREAKFAST
  • Disliked — VALUE FOR MONEY
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TIGWINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2007

We stayed at the Casterbridge on a friend's recommendation and were not disappointed! It's a smallish, personable hotel where you meet the owners as they go about the business of running it. They and the staff were very friendly, knowledgeable about Dorchester and happy to share their recommendations. The breakfast room is a lovely sunny space, available for sitting throughout the day. The rooms was clean, nicely appointed, and outfitted with kettle, hairdryer, etc. In glancing into rooms that were being made up, we could see that the rooms were often different, not all the same cookie-cutter space of chain hotels. It is an easy walk into the center of town or to the town's outskirts from the Casterbridge. We'd stay again if in Dorcester.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Benicia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2007

We have just finished a 10 day stay at the Casterbridge, and loved every minute of it. The hotel itself is lovely, and the 2 sitting rooms with a small self service bar is tastefully decorated and has very comfortable chairs and reading lamps. We ended every evening here with a drink and a quiet talk with other guests or the very friendly staff. There is also a small but beautiful landscaped courtyard in the middle of the site. When it stopped raining we were able to sit out here in the warm sun. Our room was at the top of the house with views out to the water meadows and was very quiet, was quite pretty, and very comfortable.
Breakfasts here are magnificient - beautiful fresh fruit, baked goods, excellent coffee and the cooked food is cooked to your order. Eggs, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, beans, hash browns, kippers and toast!!! We fueled up and did not (could not) have to eat again until a late evening dinner. The management also cheerfully provide plates and cutlery so you can bring food in from the many take away places on the High Street.
The hotel is right in the center of town, so it is easy to walk where ever you want to go. There are aslo many walking paths that leave from the edge of town, so you can, and we did, walk for miles. Don't miss the river path along the Frome which is just behind the hotel; you don't have to be a walker to enjoy this marvelous stroll along a chalk stream complete with ducks and swans.
We will be in Dorchester at least once a year, and the Casterbridge is by far and away our first choice of a place to stay.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Not a tthing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LAK_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

I agree with the comment re, money grabbing. It had no car park but 2 spaces down the road & around the corner outside 2 scuffy lockups! The hotel websit has now been amended!

Hotel websit looks good. However, the camra can lie!

The room was small and the bedding smelt disgusting ( like the smell in an OXFAM shop )

The bathroom was a joke ( 1 meter by 1 meter)

We take 4 holidays a year and a few long weekends so I know very good form very bad!!!

Don't waste your money go elsewhere.

  • Liked — bacon at breakfast!
  • Disliked — The dreadful smell
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2007

I stayed for 2 nights in The Casterbridge, for business reasons.
I was very positively surprised as it was very clean and the interior was very nice and done in detail. The staff was extremely helpful and I felt very comfortable during my whole stay.
Rather having the feeling to stay in a sterile and static Hotel Chain here you feel very well looked after.

I can just recommend everybody this Hotel if they are in the area and can really say that I havent had the pleasure for a long time to feel comfortable in a hotel.
Kind Regards

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Caniko76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
24.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Casterbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casterbridge

Property: The Casterbridge
Address: 49 High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Casterbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wsteria clad Georgian town house guest accommodation. Period public rooms and individually decorated rooms. Close to all town attractions and shops as well as restuarants. "Master Chef" winner offers dinner an Friday and Saturday evenings. Prices include Breakfast. We are now open for Afternoon Tea in our beautiful lounge! Perfect for a family or friends catch up! Buisness buffet lunches Select a platter buffet option from 4 up to 24 persons. available Monday to Friday lunch times Non-residents breakfast Try our fabulous Full English Breakfast. Fruit juice, cereals, fruit selection, Eggs bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, toast tea or coffee. Price per person. Bookings advised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Casterbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
The Casterbridge Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing