We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bed and breakfast in the centre of Dorchester”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Casterbridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Casterbridge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bed and breakfast in the centre of Dorchester”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Casterbridge is billed as a hotel but is in fact a bed and breakfast. The location is good in central Dorchester not far from the County Museum. The service is pleasant with a personal greeting and helpful maps provided. The breakfasts are very good with a wide range of fruit and cereals and cooked-to-order main course plus excellent coffee. My single room was small and looking on to the High East Street had traffic noise without double glazing. The walk-in shower was welcome but the toilet flush was inadequate.The price was relatively high - my long weekend of three nights in a single averaged £85 a night (including the ghastly 20% VAT of course).The bed was very comfortable and the TV worked well. The Casterbridge has a well-appointed lounge and pleasant indoor and conservatory seating areas for breakfast. .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    33
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
68
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here one night on our way home to Jersey as it was near Weymouth. We had one double and one twin room. The hotel is on a main road but i managed to pull over to drop off. We were met by a really helpful, pleasant owner. He told us if we could find parking in one of the bays on the road as it was saturday night we wouldnt have to pay till monday morning, which was ideal as we were leaving sunday morning, and we were lucky enough to find one. We checked in to two beautiful homely feeling bedrooms. The double had a lovely four poster bed, yes it was on the main street but we didnt find it noisy. The twin was just as homely, this b & b has a lovely feel about it. We enquired about dinner and were told that unless we had booked somewhere in town there was a nice chinese or indian on the main street. We had a lovely chinese just next door. We all slept soundly and had a lovely cooked to order breakfast the next morning as well as a good choice of cereal. The breakfast conservatory is a lovely setting and we all commented that the breakfast was better than what some of the big chains provide. We will be touring the south of england next year and i think we have found our perfect base, we will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Its principal characteristic is location ...on the main road running into the city centre . So noisy until the evening ..and if it's a warm night ,which it was, then opening the windows not much of an option. The street itself charmless.
Friendly . The room itself facing the aforementioned road ...and absolutely ok in a mildly twee sort of way . Good breakfast and 99 pounds for two a reasonable price. But unremarkable . And Dorchester itself even more so.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed at the Casterbridge in winter and loved it! It was clean and very welcoming.the hotel is also close to Dorchester town (across the road). Although this is great, the hotel is on a main road and there was'nt any parking for the hotel, but a carpark nearby, which is free on Sundays and after 6:00pm. The factor that also let the hotel down was that some of the rooms were overlooked but overall, the hotel was lovely and I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmyrobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We visited Dorset for our 30th wedding anniversary and chose The Casterbridge for our second night. Upon arrival we were really made to feel welcome and when we went into our room, we found flowers, cards and chocolates from our children which the hotel had organised. Not only that, the hotel staff gave us a card as well. The owners were so friendly and helpful that my wife and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending The Casterbridge.

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room at the back of the hotel as the main road can be a little noisy at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My mum and I have 2 annual trips away and have stayed in many places over the years.The Casterbridge was by far the best we have stayed in. It was beautifully furnished,clean as a whistle and the breakfast was fabulous. The staff could not have been more helpful & the hosts were very knowledgible about the history of the surrounding area & gave us lots of good tips on where to visit. A thoroughly enjoyble stay, will definately be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieboo2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in July, using Dorchester as a base for exploring the sights and beaches of Dorset. The Casterbridge exudes Georgian elegance, the conservatory is a delightful place to eat your breakfast and the owners, Monica and Melvin are very welcoming and friendly. If you're looking for a touch of class with a warm and friendly ambience, then look no further for your next stay in Dorchester.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
24.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Casterbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casterbridge

Property: The Casterbridge
Address: 49 High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Casterbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wsteria clad Georgian town house guest accommodation. Period public rooms and individually decorated rooms. Close to all town attractions and shops as well as restuarants. "Master Chef" winner offers dinner an Friday and Saturday evenings. Prices include Breakfast. We are now open for Afternoon Tea in our beautiful lounge! Perfect for a family or friends catch up! Buisness buffet lunches Select a platter buffet option from 4 up to 24 persons. available Monday to Friday lunch times Non-residents breakfast Try our fabulous Full English Breakfast. Fruit juice, cereals, fruit selection, Eggs bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, toast tea or coffee. Price per person. Bookings advised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Casterbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
The Casterbridge Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing