We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd Go Back”
Review of The Casterbridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Casterbridge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I'd Go Back”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Fools on this site who gives this hotel one star because they missed their breakfast. If you're not told breakfast times, you can of course ask. Another reviewer states that the bathroom was one metre by one metre. Are you sure that you're not getting 'bathroom' confused with 'shower cubicle'? Another who insists that the room was 'absolutely tiny'. Did you want to throw a party in there? Still, the number of five star reviews has to speak loudest and I would concur with them although we should take into account that some of the unfavourable reviews may apply to the previous management.

Our recent stay in this hotel proved to be extremely pleasant and very enjoyable, with our hosts being both friendly and helpful. The room was perfectly adequate and the bed very comfortable. Our room overlooked the street and with the window open, it was a bit noisy on Saturday night.

The breakfasts were without doubt the highlight with pretty well everything being available to allow you to get stoked up for the day. And I mean for the day. Fruit, juices, cereals, yoghurt, cooked and toast. Good coffee too.

Take heed of the five star reviews but be aware that this probably isn't a five star hotel by the standards of those who rate such properties with over blown criteria or by those who expect a swimming pool, fitness suite and Jacuzzi. This hotel is not ostentatious but it is characterful and this to me is far more appealing. If you like the sound of it, go for it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteandLizSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    34
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
72
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A two night stay in The Casterbridge proved to be a perfect break. The hotel is conveniently situated at the bottom of Dorchester High Street and the welcome we received was extremely warm and friendly. Superb breakfasts - everything you could want is available and cooked to perfection - taken in the conservatory overlooking the garden. The bedrooms are quiet and extremely comfortable with en suite, wifi, tv, with tea and coffee making facilities. Any advice you need on walking or where to find the most exciting bird life can be arranged! So much nicer than the chain hotels.

Room Tip: Even has a four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerryandbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Lovely little hotel, very accommodating hosts.
I left my credit card behind and was contacted straight away.
Clean, cosy and welcoming. Extremely good mattress. Thanks for the hospitality
Breakfast was fresh and made to order as was the coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thofique1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel for one night when the weather was appalling and we didn't want to travel further. The proprietors were very welcoming and the room was delightful. It was spacious with full facilities including an on suite and a four poster bed, what a surprise and more importantly it was exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast choice was extensive and very well presented. We would most definitely use it again.

Room Tip: We had the Georgian room I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Basil Fawlty Resurrected.
In the chaos of being shown to our second floor room (gave up on the shower) we missed the breakfast times. First morning a Sunday - good breakfast. Second day - no breakfast! Be warned Basil stops breakfast at 9.00a.m sharp. After all don't think you're on holiday! Upon registering our disappointment we were offered a miserly £5 each compensation! When we asked to see the owner in person he arrived in an absolute rage, shaking with temper at our audacity to complain! After a heated diatribe from him about how hard his job was he grudgingly wanted to give us our missing meal - by which time it was nearly 10.30, we declined his offer fearing for his life in the kitchen in such a state! We certainly wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. If ever you're passing - keep going!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelalot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed in the Casterbridge with some of my colleagues on a business trip. We all were very happy with our stay. I stayed in a single bedroom which was lovely. It was a good size single bedroom with very comfortable bed and superb coffee and tea making facilities, there was a bath tub in my bathroom, which was lovely , but I had to be cautious when using shower, because they had some sort of floor problem - water just goes through the ceiling, nobody warned me about that, so I had to cover the floor with towels, so not to cause anymore troubles (towels were changed every day so I didn't mind).

Everyday servicing was top class, all the tea coffee facilities were replaced everyday as well as towels and bathroom facilities, basically the room looked newly changed every day. The only complaint about the room was the internet, I couldn't get any signal on any of my devices, but they do have a very charming and large lounge area, with plenty of seating are and internet signal.

Breakfast was lovely, very nice and big buffet variety (usually you would not get such big choice of juices and fruit in an English b&b), cooked breakfast was lovely and filling, but do not hesitate to ask for your coffee to be stronger.

Parking was just a few minutes way from the b&b, which is lucky because most central b&b would not have parking at all!

All in all, good value and very charming, would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

what a find!!! this family run Hotel right in the heart of Dorchester.Deserves all the praises seen on this website.Warm friendly welcome spotlessly clean big rooms and great local food served on Wedgwood crocery.It makes a chnage to meet a hotelier who has only the client in mind,takes a pride in their hotel and standards many 5 star establishments would be envious of

Room Tip: room 4 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.3 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
10.2 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Casterbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casterbridge

Property: The Casterbridge
Address: 49 High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Casterbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wsteria clad Georgian town house guest accommodation. Period public rooms and individually decorated rooms. Close to all town attractions and shops as well as restuarants. "Master Chef" winner offers dinner an Friday and Saturday evenings. Prices include Breakfast. We are now open for Afternoon Tea in our beautiful lounge! Perfect for a family or friends catch up! Buisness buffet lunches Select a platter buffet option from 4 up to 24 persons. available Monday to Friday lunch times Non-residents breakfast Try our fabulous Full English Breakfast. Fruit juice, cereals, fruit selection, Eggs bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, toast tea or coffee. Price per person. Bookings advised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Casterbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
The Casterbridge Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing