We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Casterbridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Casterbridge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I've have stayed here on business when in the area and also had my family visit. It's the perfect place to stay for both occasions. A very warm welcome is awaiting, well appointed rooms and good nights seep. Then an excellent cooked breakfast to set you up for the day ahead. I cannot recommend this establishment highly enough. If you would like to stay in the area, look no further. Will hopefully be back in town very soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 728SimonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    33
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
68
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Simply stunning location and ambiance. Furnishings and some superb pieces on exhibit made me ask the owner "is this a Boutique Hotel?" to which he replied he thought not as it had been a hotel more a great number of years before the term was invented".

Well, we found a real GEM ! Our visit to Dorchester was a BIG birthday Celebration :) and to visit Athelhampton House en route ; Piddletown and other pretty villages :) then having dinner with THE Matt Follas (Masterchef winner 2009) who now offfers 25 covers at the Casterbridge on Friday and Saturday evenings - single sitting :) thus an unhurried Masterful meal and evening. Staying overnight the Casterbridge have a very special offer worth availing yourself of :)

Beautiful room - so quaint, but on "trend" decor and the MOST COMFORTABLE not hard and not lumpy bed I have slept in, in a hotel EVER :) aahhhh the ZZZ zzz's kept me there a long while :)

Breakfast by the Owner was also just the most surprising of delights - a vast array of cereals ; Meusli ; juices; fresh fruit ; or cooked and eggs any which way you like to ask for ... and toast ... BUT the overwhelming delight was Figs :) YOU must try these, even if you hate figs try these :) I am not about to give the secret recipe Chef/Owner shared with me ... ONLY because we were Guests there :) so you have to visit for the Breakfast Figs r#exclusive recipe :)

Dorchester and Athelhampton House both filled many chips in my cameras with fine images - as did the Puddletown and Piddle town and other local villages :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chevvy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Nice B&B near the centre of Dorchester. Welcoming host. Decor was rather flowery, but the room was nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, freshly cooked for you. Please be aware that if you book through a website that says there is on site parking, this is incorrect. There is a car park a short walk away though where you can park all day/night for I think £4.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is the ideal place to stop over for a few nights if are visiting the region. Close to Weymouth and Poole and set in the beautiful Hardy countryside.
Very welcoming staff and the room was very clean with a very comfortable double bed. En-suite bathroom with plenty of white fluffy towels!!!
Superb breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and could find very little to complain about. the rooms are clean and nicely furnished with all the basics provided. the breakfast was very traditional and well cooked. I don't really have any complaints but a few observations which could be suggestions. The public rooms are very smart but dark and dated. Great spaces that are completely wasted, with a little thought and vision the two ground floor rooms could be turned into a really nice bar and games/TV/ reading room. The outside of the hotel is delightful but inside the whole place is a little dated as highlighted by the boast "hotel of the year 2007" proudly displayed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This was a very nice and warm place to stay, we stayed here for two nights being contractors we wasnt met with the judgemental stare u get from most places thinking we would roll in at all hours steaming drunk, no both hosts were warm polite friendly and couldnt do enough to accomodate us, rooms were home from home beds very comfy, shower was hottest id experianced, but by far the thing that made my trip was the choice at breakfast more than enough to see us through the whole working day 8-6 all in all would recommend and most definatly return, keep up the good work guys from two full n happy contractors

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgizzles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at The Casterbridge. It is a very comfortable and welcoming hotel. We booked two bedrooms for our party and both were absolutely lovely. Very comfortable beds, nice crisp bed linen, and everything was spotless. Excellent breakfasts; lots of choose from and the cooked breakfast came piping hot. Excellent quality tea and coffee. The hotel had every facility that we could want (and more). Superb!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fvanoef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
24.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Casterbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casterbridge

Property: The Casterbridge
Address: 49 High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Casterbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wsteria clad Georgian town house guest accommodation. Period public rooms and individually decorated rooms. Close to all town attractions and shops as well as restuarants. "Master Chef" winner offers dinner an Friday and Saturday evenings. Prices include Breakfast. We are now open for Afternoon Tea in our beautiful lounge! Perfect for a family or friends catch up! Buisness buffet lunches Select a platter buffet option from 4 up to 24 persons. available Monday to Friday lunch times Non-residents breakfast Try our fabulous Full English Breakfast. Fruit juice, cereals, fruit selection, Eggs bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, toast tea or coffee. Price per person. Bookings advised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Casterbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
The Casterbridge Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing