We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC - WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN!”
Review of The Casterbridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Casterbridge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC - WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, the staff could not have been more welcoming. We had a lovely room with everything we could need. The breakfast was wonderful and cooked to order. The decor of the hotel is lovely and very homely. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsLot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    34
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
71
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife brought me here for my birthday for 2 nights and to eat in the restaurant. We had a great trip. Dorchester is a lovely town with lots to do...
We parked in the hotel car park - 3 mins walk since the hotel is on the main road and parking is charged at the meter. The hotel is charming, in fact like a Georgian home from home! Very comfortable sitting room at the front (large fire which wasn't required in June). Small bar area and restaurant. The rooms were fine with everything you would expect. The shower was like warm rain - OK it worked fine but not a lot of flow - we were on the top floor so it might be better on lower floors. The bed was most comfortable and general fittings good quality.
Kate on reception was very welcoming and helpful with tips about Dorchester and the surrounding area. (We arrived after 10pm and she waited until we came, parked and got settled in before she left). There's a couple of good pubs, and a typical Indian and a Chinese restaurant very close by.
But the best was the restaurant - wonderful food and good wines. The Chef is Mat Follas who has won Masterchef a few years ago. We can see why - best local hotel food I've ever had!

Room Tip: Make sure you come on a weekend and eat in the restaurant when Chef Mat Follas is cooking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

we were needed at short notice to attend to some business in Dorchester and needed somewhere with one single and one double, on phoning the local tourist information they informed me the The Casterbridge had vacancie. How lucky were we!. I must admit having visited Dorchester many times previously i had been unaware of this establishment and didn't know what to expect. We were warmly welcomed and from then on the whole experience was superb. Room was lovely and clean, bed lining crisp and clean. tea making facilities more than adequate. Breakfast was excellent with a whole variety of choice, fresh fruits, cereals, fruit juices and an excellent choice for those wanting fried breakfast or kippers etc. The staff are excellent and could teach a lot of other local hotels in customer liaison, very polite and courteous, best i have experience for a long, long time. we will definitely return.Well done Casterbridge!!

Room Tip: Try for rooms in the rear of the building as the main road can be very busy and at times noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inspector1Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were passing through Dorset on our recent trip to England and had reserved for one night at the Casterbridge. June 16, 2014. The owner was there when we arrived and showed us to our room and then disappeared immediately. That was unfortunate as we wanted to ask some questions about our plans for the following day. He said he would talk with us in the morning but then was no where to be found. Anyway, the room was very comfortable and clean, the bathroom fine, and as other reviewers have said...the breakfast was wonderful. We ended up getting advice from the young waitress at breakfast but we would have preferred a more traveled information source. In general it was a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRdeb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Brought my wife here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Hotel is small, comfortable and feels like a home. We booked the 4-poster room which was really comfortable. Hotel and rooms were clean, well decorated, comfortable. Location of hotel is good at one end of the High Street. Parking is a minor issue but space is available a 2 minute walk away (you might have to pay).

All the staff were friendly, welcoming and very polite - almost formal. Although we didn't use the facility there is a beautiful lounge area for guests, with books, and tourist info.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of cereals, fruit, nuts etc as well as an excellent freshly cooked full english.

I thought the room rates were very good. Definitely recommend and will come back.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs, some on a second floor which might create access issues for some. Room 5 was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I've have stayed here on business when in the area and also had my family visit. It's the perfect place to stay for both occasions. A very warm welcome is awaiting, well appointed rooms and good nights seep. Then an excellent cooked breakfast to set you up for the day ahead. I cannot recommend this establishment highly enough. If you would like to stay in the area, look no further. Will hopefully be back in town very soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 728SimonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Simply stunning location and ambiance. Furnishings and some superb pieces on exhibit made me ask the owner "is this a Boutique Hotel?" to which he replied he thought not as it had been a hotel more a great number of years before the term was invented".

Well, we found a real GEM ! Our visit to Dorchester was a BIG birthday Celebration :) and to visit Athelhampton House en route ; Piddletown and other pretty villages :) then having dinner with THE Matt Follas (Masterchef winner 2009) who now offfers 25 covers at the Casterbridge on Friday and Saturday evenings - single sitting :) thus an unhurried Masterful meal and evening. Staying overnight the Casterbridge have a very special offer worth availing yourself of :)

Beautiful room - so quaint, but on "trend" decor and the MOST COMFORTABLE not hard and not lumpy bed I have slept in, in a hotel EVER :) aahhhh the ZZZ zzz's kept me there a long while :)

Breakfast by the Owner was also just the most surprising of delights - a vast array of cereals ; Meusli ; juices; fresh fruit ; or cooked and eggs any which way you like to ask for ... and toast ... BUT the overwhelming delight was Figs :) YOU must try these, even if you hate figs try these :) I am not about to give the secret recipe Chef/Owner shared with me ... ONLY because we were Guests there :) so you have to visit for the Breakfast Figs r#exclusive recipe :)

Dorchester and Athelhampton House both filled many chips in my cameras with fine images - as did the Puddletown and Piddle town and other local villages :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chevvy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
24.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Casterbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casterbridge

Property: The Casterbridge
Address: 49 High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Casterbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wsteria clad Georgian town house guest accommodation. Period public rooms and individually decorated rooms. Close to all town attractions and shops as well as restuarants. "Master Chef" winner offers dinner an Friday and Saturday evenings. Prices include Breakfast. We are now open for Afternoon Tea in our beautiful lounge! Perfect for a family or friends catch up! Buisness buffet lunches Select a platter buffet option from 4 up to 24 persons. available Monday to Friday lunch times Non-residents breakfast Try our fabulous Full English Breakfast. Fruit juice, cereals, fruit selection, Eggs bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, toast tea or coffee. Price per person. Bookings advised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Casterbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
The Casterbridge Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing