We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service”
Review of The Casterbridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Casterbridge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at this modest hotel for 5 nights last week, and highly recommend it. The Georgian building is beautiful and the decor matches it well. Our room was small but very pretty, the bed comfortable and the breakfasts first class. What really made it however was Monica, the proprietress's, genuinely warm welcome and local knowledge. On our arrival, she gave us a 'welcome pack' of things to do and places to visit, and made several useful suggestions. In particular, she pointed out three excellent restaurants within short walking distance - No.6, the Caverna and Sienna. We also ate dinner cooked by Mat Follas, a previous Masterchef winner, on the Friday evening in the hotel, a most enjoyable experience.
We will return.

Room Tip: Go for the fourposter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoragNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin C, Owner at The Casterbridge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    34
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
73
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a nice town house hotel, with pleasant communal sitting areas. The first thing that hit us on arrival though was the smell of stale food.Which nearly made us turn around... However, the decor is nice, very traditional.
Our room was a traditional room with a 4 poster. Decor slightly tired but not bad. No bottles of water in room, and tea and coffee stuff basic. The biggest problem for us was when they started cooking in the kitchen downstairs, we got the smell in our bedroom-strongly! The room was on the main road, which whilst it isn't super busy is noisy enough, and the window only opened about an inch or two. My husband did speak with the proprietor who gave us a can of air freshener. I think a good extraction unit in the kitchen would do the trick!
We stayed here to come to eat at the restaurant, which i have reviewed separately.
The bed was ok, but we didn't have the best nights sleep
Breakfast was ok. The Conservatory is a nice room, they played the same awful selection of music that had been played the night before. The music didn't suit the gentile ambience, and whilst in the restaurant they might have played that selection of music to appear 'modern' light classical would better suit the style of the hotel. The female proprietor was very pleasant to talk with, and also was waitressing at breakfast, the owners are very 'hands on' which is admirable in a small hotel, when other establishments tend to hand over to managers etc.,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed 4 nights here and this is a great place from which to explore Dorset. A comfortable bed and pleasant bathroom although the shower could do with upgrading. The breakfast was excellent. An attractive lounge, and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. I highly recommend The Casterbridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffles45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Casterbridge is directly on the High St just before you leave Dorchester. There is no car park, However there is a Long Stay car park 4 minutes away, which charges £4.00 per day 8am to 6pm Mon-Fri.
There are two quaint reception rooms and a dining room with a conservatory extension, where breakfast is served.
The room we were given was a twin on the Top floor on the High St side, it was a nice room but very hot and very noisy from the traffic. we did not sleep too well either night. The Shower was no more than a hand shower as the pressure is insufficient.
Breakfast was fine and the staff friendly.
I understand they have a guest chef, cooking Dinner sometimes, but was not there the weekend we stayed.
I would expect air conditioning and sound proofed windows in an establishment whose charges are more than some bigger and better equipped Hotels.
It was a pleasant enough stay although should I need to stay in Dorchester again I would probably look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I assume the rooms at the back, would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JDA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, the staff could not have been more welcoming. We had a lovely room with everything we could need. The breakfast was wonderful and cooked to order. The decor of the hotel is lovely and very homely. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsLot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife brought me here for my birthday for 2 nights and to eat in the restaurant. We had a great trip. Dorchester is a lovely town with lots to do...
We parked in the hotel car park - 3 mins walk since the hotel is on the main road and parking is charged at the meter. The hotel is charming, in fact like a Georgian home from home! Very comfortable sitting room at the front (large fire which wasn't required in June). Small bar area and restaurant. The rooms were fine with everything you would expect. The shower was like warm rain - OK it worked fine but not a lot of flow - we were on the top floor so it might be better on lower floors. The bed was most comfortable and general fittings good quality.
Kate on reception was very welcoming and helpful with tips about Dorchester and the surrounding area. (We arrived after 10pm and she waited until we came, parked and got settled in before she left). There's a couple of good pubs, and a typical Indian and a Chinese restaurant very close by.
But the best was the restaurant - wonderful food and good wines. The Chef is Mat Follas who has won Masterchef a few years ago. We can see why - best local hotel food I've ever had!

Room Tip: Make sure you come on a weekend and eat in the restaurant when Chef Mat Follas is cooking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

we were needed at short notice to attend to some business in Dorchester and needed somewhere with one single and one double, on phoning the local tourist information they informed me the The Casterbridge had vacancie. How lucky were we!. I must admit having visited Dorchester many times previously i had been unaware of this establishment and didn't know what to expect. We were warmly welcomed and from then on the whole experience was superb. Room was lovely and clean, bed lining crisp and clean. tea making facilities more than adequate. Breakfast was excellent with a whole variety of choice, fresh fruits, cereals, fruit juices and an excellent choice for those wanting fried breakfast or kippers etc. The staff are excellent and could teach a lot of other local hotels in customer liaison, very polite and courteous, best i have experience for a long, long time. we will definitely return.Well done Casterbridge!!

Room Tip: Try for rooms in the rear of the building as the main road can be very busy and at times noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inspector1Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.3 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
107 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
7.9 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Casterbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casterbridge

Property: The Casterbridge
Address: 49 High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Casterbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wsteria clad Georgian town house guest accommodation. Period public rooms and individually decorated rooms. Close to all town attractions and shops as well as restuarants. "Master Chef" winner offers dinner an Friday and Saturday evenings. Prices include Breakfast. We are now open for Afternoon Tea in our beautiful lounge! Perfect for a family or friends catch up! Buisness buffet lunches Select a platter buffet option from 4 up to 24 persons. available Monday to Friday lunch times Non-residents breakfast Try our fabulous Full English Breakfast. Fruit juice, cereals, fruit selection, Eggs bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, toast tea or coffee. Price per person. Bookings advised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Casterbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
The Casterbridge Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing