We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westwood House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westwood House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 50 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We often seek accommodation in the Weymouth area going to or from the Channel ferry and have had some dreadful experiences as the standard of accommodation in Weymouth itself is DIRE.

We were arriving in Weymouth after midnight but the owner was happy to stay up to let us in (with a smile) so that was a great start. We were shown to room 6 - 1st floor front which is a large elegant room at the front of the house. The only small negative is as it's on the main road there is double glazing which keeps out noise but makes it stuffy, there is an air con unit though should it be hot. As we were only there one night and it was late we didn't try to open the outer window but this may be possible. Anyway this is a tiny issue and we will just ask to try a room at the back next time.

Huge king sized bed, super sized bath towels and a sofa in the room - all very comfortable and welcoming. The house itself is elegant with Georgian proportions and high ceilings. There is a comfortable formal sitting room and a light conservatory and decking. There are two black cats and anyone who has complained about them has not read the hotel's website which clearly states that pets are kept!

Having seen us in at 1am Tom was on breakfast duty and cheerful and helpful. The parking is just up the road and inexpensive.

So for anyone going to the ferry at Weymouth - forget staying there, with the new road this is only about 15-20 minutes away and in a different league. Dorchester is also beautiful and unspoilt - very Hardyesque, Casterbridge very much alive. We shall return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5492Cardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    47
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
137
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bewdley uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

A fantastic family run guest house in the heart of historic Dorchester. My husband and I decided to stay here since it was ranked number one for places to stay in Dorchester....and we were not disappointed. The room we stayed in was delightful and nothing was too much trouble fot the owners,Tom and Demelza. Breakfast was excellent and was served in a light and spacious conservatory. We look forward to staying at Westwood house again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fastcatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Great place to stay, lovely rooms which are spotlessly clean!!

Tom is the perfect host and nothing is too much trouble!

Will definitely be returning and soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrydavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a friendly, well run & tastefully decorated guest house, in the centre of Dorchester. Our room was very comfortable with a small lobby from which you entered the tastefully decorated bedroom & bathroom. We were impressed by the local restaurant info, which was written with obvious local knowledge & experience of the restaurants.
The breakfast the next morning was plentiful & delicious, & served in a friendly & relaxed atmosphere...right down to the two cats that were washing themselves in the sunshine, in the conservatory as we sat & enjoyed our full English breakfast.
Only negative...our room was at the front of the house & the street noise from around 7am was a little intrusive.

Room Tip: Our front room was noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

This is a guest house to recommend to anyone wanting a very convenient place in the middle of Dorchester and we felt it was great value too. Tom and Demelza are really perfect hosts, Tom taking care of the guests while Demelza is busy in the kitchen cooking wonderful breakfasts. The rooms we had were on the top floor housing two rooms that interconnect and the bathroom belongs to that floor alone. Perfect when you have kids. Although it is quite a lot of steps getting there, the view from the roof windows are worth it. Parking is easy, but not free in Dorchester. Best bet is to take a short walk to a huge public car park up the road. And nearby are many really nice restaurants. We had a fantastic time, help by some perfect hospitality from Tom and Demelza and the rooms are superb too. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Having read the reviews prior to staying I was not disappointed. The hospitality from Tom and Melz was second to none (not forgetting the cats and dog!). Room 5 had a seperate sitting area, a bit like a studio flat without the kitchen really. The decor was so lovely that I'm going to recreate it at home! The bed was soooooo comfy and with the room being at the back of the guesthouse, it was pretty quiet too. Free Wifi and a guide to the local restaurants was a nice touch. Breakfast was just right......never without a full cup courtesey of Tom. Sorry to leave!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Although this is classed as a B&B it is ceratinly superior to many hotels. From the welcome by Tom through the spoltessly clean bedroom to the excellent breakfast along with free wifi we had no complaints, only compliments. The highlight however was the supremely comfortable 6' bed and the best night's sleep that we had experienced for a long time. We now have plans to buy the matress and topper.
A definite recommendation for anyone staying in Dorchester

Room Tip: Room 1 is a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swerve44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#10 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Little Court
Little Court
#5 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Guest House

Property: Westwood House Guest House
Address: Guest House 29 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic county town of Dorchester, Westwood House is an attractive Georgian property built in 1815 by Lord Ilchester we believe for his coachmen. Converted to a town house guest house and personally run by resident owners Tom & Demelza Stevens, the accommodation offers a comfortable, informal non-smoking environment for the business or leisure visitor during their stay in Dorchester. The guest accommodation comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms all are well equipped with modern facilities, including LCD television with over 30 channels, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.A variety of restaurants, pubs and cafes are only a short stroll away from the house. Alternatively bring in a take-away and relax in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Westwood House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Dorchester
Westwood House Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing