We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westwood House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had a super room at the front of the house, the mini fridge had FRESH milk which is always a bonus and there was plenty of tea bags, coffee etc. The room was very clean and had obviously been recently decorated. The shower is very powerful and the bathroom was ideal. Breakfast was freshly cooked with plenty of cereal, fruit juice, jams etc. And a welcome visit from Tiny the cat, although the hosts will remove her if you are not cat people. A lovely place, will visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suffolkgirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

This is a lovely clean, comfortable guest house with owners who have really gone that extra mile to ensure their guests comfort and happiness. The mini fridge in the room was already stocked with milk on arrival, Tea, coffee, sweets, toiletries and a full information pack with restaurant menus and info supplied in the room. If you want to bring in a take away they supply plates and cutlery.
The breakfast was great with lots of choice and top ups of tea and toast until we were fit to burst!

My only small gripe is that if you have the window open at night there is a lot of traffic noise from the deceptively busy road outside. The windows have double glazing to stop this but we had to open the window because of the smell of gloss paint, to which I react quite badly.

I would (and have) highly recommend Westwood house as a lovely place to stay for a romantic break or as a base for exploring Dorset.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathrine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Well appointed unfussy rooms. Plenty of space, nice and quiet and everything you need within. Hosts were great couldn't do enough to help, Breakfast choice was good with full English , vegetarian options, fish or eggs benedict all tasted excellent No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We fully agree with most other reviewers. This is the perfect place to stay if you like quality and wish to visit dorchester and surroundings. It was easy to find and Tom was very welcoming and happy to give advice on where to eat/what to do etc.
The room was large, airy and tastefully decorated with a huge bed! It had all the facilities one would expect and, like the rest of the establishment was spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was superb, an excellent full English for me and beautifully cooked smoked haddock for my wife along with a good selection of fruit/cereals/nuts/yoghurts and the widest range of conserves I've ever seen.
The only negative is parking which can be difficult/expensive outside the hotel, but there are plenty of paying car parks nearby.
We will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Read several reviews, they are spot on, Tom and his Wife were very friendly and helpful, room was lovely on 1st floor, lovely big bathroom with all accessories you would need, excellent tea and coffee facilities, lovely breakfast with a lot of choice. Location perfect for restaurants, bars and local transport. Would certainly recommend this Guest House, thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Bedroom 1 is lovely, large king size bed and spacious bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anderson07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I was very impressed with this place, from the warm reception from Tom, the owner, the quality of the rooms and the attention to detail. Very clean.
Stairs only to the rooms, my room had a small sitting room with tea and coffee making facilities, including fresh milk in the small fridge.
A Tv, small sofa, table and chair. The bedroom, very well equipped, very comfy bed. Plenty of wardrobe space, an iron and ironing board. Hair dryer and a small box with all sorts of useful stuff, shoe horn, needle and selection of cottons. Bathroom too had lovely hand wash, hand lotion, shower gel and shampoo.

Breakfast is on the ground floor, just past a comfy sitting area. Breakfast very good, non greasy full English, or any combination,the staff were happy to help. A selection of cereals, juices etc.

I have booked up to stay again.

The only negative is that there is no car park, however, the municipal car park is less than 2 minute walk away, and is free to park after 6pm till 8 am.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

nice place located near restaurants and pubs.owners very friendly and helpfull will book again..the cat is lovely as well...good breakfast with good helpings!.. only small downside is parking but you can park outside the place after 6 for free until 8am so not to bad!..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertc18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
160 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Little Court
Little Court
#4 of 45 in Dorchester
155 reviews
1.9 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Guest House

Address: Guest House 29 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range: £86 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic county town of Dorchester, Westwood House is an attractive Georgian property built in 1815 by Lord Ilchester we believe for his coachmen. Converted to a town house guest house and personally run by resident owners Tom & Demelza Stevens, the accommodation offers a comfortable, informal non-smoking environment for the business or leisure visitor during their stay in Dorchester. The guest accommodation comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms all are well equipped with modern facilities, including LCD television with over 30 channels, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.A variety of restaurants, pubs and cafes are only a short stroll away from the house. Alternatively bring in a take-away and relax in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Westwood House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Dorchester
Westwood House Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing