We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westwood House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We spent one night here on our way from Portsmouth to the West Coast. The room was large, spotless, with lots of little extras that added to a truly enjoyable stay. Breakfast was very nice, with standard but good choices in a lovely conservatory. Parking was relatively easy in the next street or the long-stay carpark, both a short walk away.
The steps to the room, after the first flight are steep, but hardly unmanageable. We opted to leave our luggage in the car and just take enough for the night's stay.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    48
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
142
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed just the one night at Westwood House but wish we could have stayed longer. Friendly, helpful and courteous owners add to the brilliant venue and great cooking. Don't be tempted to stay anywhere else in and around Dorchester

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hosts have used high quality suppliers throughout the guest house and our front facing room which was very evident and noticeable.
Our spacious room and bathroom with lovely high ceilings was fully equipped with all the essentials we required and lovely personal touches such as a jar of sweets, fancy toiletries and a useful info booklet which gave us a good idea of places to eat and see within the town. Tom was also very helpful providing his personal recommendations of the local restaurants.
The huge comfy bed provided a comfortable nights sleep and we were very impressed with breakfast the following morning with delicious homemade granola and locally sourced produce throughout.
Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

After a 5 hour journey from London on Bank holiday Saturday we were made most welcome by Tom. Our room was lovely and the breakfast the following morning excellent and set us up for the day ahead. Would thoroughly recommend Westwood House as a base for seeing the local area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IHB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had a super room at the front of the house, the mini fridge had FRESH milk which is always a bonus and there was plenty of tea bags, coffee etc. The room was very clean and had obviously been recently decorated. The shower is very powerful and the bathroom was ideal. Breakfast was freshly cooked with plenty of cereal, fruit juice, jams etc. And a welcome visit from Tiny the cat, although the hosts will remove her if you are not cat people. A lovely place, will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suffolkgirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This is a lovely clean, comfortable guest house with owners who have really gone that extra mile to ensure their guests comfort and happiness. The mini fridge in the room was already stocked with milk on arrival, Tea, coffee, sweets, toiletries and a full information pack with restaurant menus and info supplied in the room. If you want to bring in a take away they supply plates and cutlery.
The breakfast was great with lots of choice and top ups of tea and toast until we were fit to burst!

My only small gripe is that if you have the window open at night there is a lot of traffic noise from the deceptively busy road outside. The windows have double glazing to stop this but we had to open the window because of the smell of gloss paint, to which I react quite badly.

I would (and have) highly recommend Westwood house as a lovely place to stay for a romantic break or as a base for exploring Dorset.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Well appointed unfussy rooms. Plenty of space, nice and quiet and everything you need within. Hosts were great couldn't do enough to help, Breakfast choice was good with full English , vegetarian options, fish or eggs benedict all tasted excellent No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Guest House

Property: Westwood House Guest House
Address: Guest House 29 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic county town of Dorchester, Westwood House is an attractive Georgian property built in 1815 by Lord Ilchester we believe for his coachmen. Converted to a town house guest house and personally run by resident owners Tom & Demelza Stevens, the accommodation offers a comfortable, informal non-smoking environment for the business or leisure visitor during their stay in Dorchester. The guest accommodation comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms all are well equipped with modern facilities, including LCD television with over 30 channels, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.A variety of restaurants, pubs and cafes are only a short stroll away from the house. Alternatively bring in a take-away and relax in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Westwood House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Dorchester
Westwood House Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing