We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westwood House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights for a family wedding during the August Bank holiday .
Rooms :- 2,connected on the top floor.large adjacent bathroom.Tea,coffee,fridge,iron,ironing board.
There was a small amount of traffic noise encountered in the front bedroom.neither of us sleeping there in the very comfortable beds were disturbed.

Breakfast - 1st class in terms of quality and service.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank 2149jamesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked this to go to a wedding reception in Poundbury (1 mile away). Room was lovely, well decorated and had all the facilities I needed for my one night stay. Bed was comfortable. Hosts were friendly and helpful.
All very clean.
Breakfast in the conservarory was excellent with plenty of choice for all diets.
Parking is relatively easy considering they have no parking attached. The municipal carpark is 100 yards away. If you arrive after 6:30 pm on Friday and stay for the whole weekend it will cost you £4.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikewalker002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a clean and comfortable place to stay, very convenient if you want to be in the centre of Dorchester, or if you are interested in the Prince of Wales's Poundbury development. As others have said, the breakfasts are excellent. The reservations? Because the house fronts onto the main road, rooms at the front can be noisy. Although the hosts are indeed very friendly, we were not offered tea on arrival. To be sure, tea-making facilities exist in each room, but this is a welcome gesture which other B&B's usually offer. The price was higher than at other B&B's we have stayed in, though the central location may be the reason.

Room Tip: For those that like quiet, ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here for the night, and I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone that wants a lovely place to stay. The owners make your stay very welcome, and the rooms are very spacious, with all the amenities you could wish for. The bed is one of the best I have ever slept in, and the breakfast in the conservatory was great.

Room Tip: Go for the master room for an extra special treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sm1ley30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have stayed in the guest house for only one night but this will be my choice if I go back to Dorchester. Excellent hotel with very comfortable rooms. Massive beds, with more than enough space for two. Very clean and crisp. Fridge in the room, coffee/tea making facilities and lovely little area with armchairs and table where you can relax. Massive and very clean bathroom. Very hospitable and friendly owners. Breakfast - to die for!! The Best eggs Benedict I have ever had!! Anything on the menu looked delicious and they had special extras when we were there (American style pancakes!). Overall excellent and very relaxing stay. Very Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marta7uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We recently stayed in this delightful little b & b hotel for 4 nights and thouroughly enjoyed the stay. The proprietors made us feel really welcome. The room was tastefully decorated and as otherts have remarked the breakfasts are outstanding. Would reccomend The Westwood.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We saw Westwood House on Trip Advisor and it lived up to all expectations. What made our short stay so special was not just a lovely, spacious comfortable room and en suite, a great breakfast (home made muesli, full English or pancakes!) but the exceptionally helpful welcome and service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardbloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
161 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Little Court
Little Court
#4 of 45 in Dorchester
157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
292 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#3 of 45 in Dorchester
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Guest House

Address: Guest House 29 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range: £89 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic county town of Dorchester, Westwood House is an attractive Georgian property built in 1815 by Lord Ilchester we believe for his coachmen. Converted to a town house guest house and personally run by resident owners Tom & Demelza Stevens, the accommodation offers a comfortable, informal non-smoking environment for the business or leisure visitor during their stay in Dorchester. The guest accommodation comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms all are well equipped with modern facilities, including LCD television with over 30 channels, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.A variety of restaurants, pubs and cafes are only a short stroll away from the house. Alternatively bring in a take-away and relax in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Westwood House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Dorchester
Westwood House Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing