We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and rubbing shoulders with the stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westwood House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and rubbing shoulders with the stars!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Made to feel very welcome, room very comfortable and nicely decorated (I was in the 'Plush' room in the basement).

Hosts were very nice, breakfast was good and was waiting behind Tony Robinson to check out in the morning!

Only downside is lack of mobile reception in the basement, but the WiFi served my needs for work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    48
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
144
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a lovely B&B. Our room had a really comfortable bed and the owners have gone to town on providing all those little extras which show thought and consideration for guests. It's on a busy road so parking is not very easy but other than that our experience was fantastic. Breakfast was good and it was only at this stage that we learnt that our hosts were locums from a firm that provides stand-in cover for B&Bs - reason - the chef had not cooked Eggs Benedict for some time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobLSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aysgarth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was great particularly liked the home-made granola but a really good cooked breakfast too. Rooms spaces, clean and nice with little extra things that gave it a special touch. Really lovely couple running the place who make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjpebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Second time we have stayed at the west wood and again not disappointed. Service brill and the eggs benedict to die for! Will certainly be returning when staying in dorchester. Exceptionally clean and tidy I could go on but well done. I might just try something else of the fab breakfast menu but never had eggs benedict like it..

Room Tip: Ask for the plush room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbi12328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We got a room upon arrival. The owners were really nice and helpful: they made us feel at home. The room was nicely decorated with a personal touch. The is a choice of 5 different breakfasts, the full English which we tried was nice, but the not exceptional. However the choice of jams and yogurt condiments were. A fully enjoyable place to stay in Dorchester.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed for two nights in September. My wife and I received a warm welcome upon arrival. The room was neat and tidy and had one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The cooked breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable and the service was excellent. As this was the first hotel on our 9 day break we had high hopes for the rest of our holiday. The only drawback was parking which though less than a 5 minute walk away, could for some be a little annoying, especially as my wife has so much luggage and couldn't decide what to take in with her as a bare minimum.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We staying in Westwood house for one night on the way to Devon for an extended break. The B&B was right in the middle of town, close to a number of restaurants and close to public parking.

The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was both spacious and well equipped. The room was quiet and dark at night and the owners were very welcoming.

Breakfast was served in the conservatory in the morning and was excellent. The only thing I would change about the B&B would be free on-site parking but given the town centre location, there is plenty of other parking available

Room Tip: This room was based on a room downstairs and I would recommend asking if they have either downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronzehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
149 reviews
2.2 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
277 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#3 of 45 in Dorchester
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Guest House

Property: Westwood House Guest House
Address: Guest House 29 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic county town of Dorchester, Westwood House is an attractive Georgian property built in 1815 by Lord Ilchester we believe for his coachmen. Converted to a town house guest house and personally run by resident owners Tom & Demelza Stevens, the accommodation offers a comfortable, informal non-smoking environment for the business or leisure visitor during their stay in Dorchester. The guest accommodation comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms all are well equipped with modern facilities, including LCD television with over 30 channels, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.A variety of restaurants, pubs and cafes are only a short stroll away from the house. Alternatively bring in a take-away and relax in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westwood House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Dorchester
Westwood House Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing