We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yalbury Cottage
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Casterbridge(Dorchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Junction Hotel(Dorchester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel(Weymouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Smuggler's Inn(Osmington Mills)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel(Weymouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
250
37
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
250
37
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade biscuitspre dinner drinkswhite puddingscallopssmall hotelstorage heatersdorset breakfastduckbirthday dinnerhardy countryb ban excellent restaurantcosy loungehome madethree courseswonderful foodeach evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had another fantastic stay here, everything was just perfect, (thank you for the mushroom deluxe by the way it was delicious!) Would highly recommend this beautiful hotel to everyone.
Thank you again
Pauline & Martin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in September 2013.
After a number of disappointments with stays in Britain over the years it is a pleasure to be able to think - yes I would want to go back and could recommend it to anyone (and I'm a bit picky!) Indeed several other guests had returned many times, they told us
Our room was comfortable and quiet, and everything worked as it should. Food was exceptional, service was efficient and friendly. The hostess was welcoming and helpful. Clearly this is a well-run establishment. Good value for money too.
We did a circular walk from the cottage taking in delightful countryside, Hardy's Cottage and the church where his heart is buried.
What more could you want?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildlifeWatcher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

After a flight from Barcelona we hired a car and set off from Gatwick in search of Bluebells. How wonderful to end the day at Yalbury Cottage in Dorset. Without pre booking or knowledge of the area we were lucky indeed. Room 2, spacious, with crisp linen, pretty tea mugs and a spotless bathroom & with windows opening onto Jack frosted fields, this was the perfect place to wake up. How unexpected was the top notch Dinner, beautifully presented and served with ease. Breakfast under a low beamed ceiling was a busy time, yet strangely quiet.Pansies smiled from patio tubs and a couple of horses said hello.Thank you to all the friendly staff & to Flopsy, Mopsy, Cotton-tail & Peter for showing us where the Bluebells grew. What joy to be in England

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the horse paddock/meadow
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSilverTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have just spent the weekend at Yalbury Cottage in Lower Bockhampton for a family wedding nearby. 7 couples/families all stayed there and were made so welcome. The accommodation is lovely, clean and cozy and very comfortable. The patio area is very welcoming and we were so lucky to have sunshine too to enable us to share it.

Breakfast was cooked individually and presented beautifully.

Would have no hesitation in recommending such a lovely B&B & hope to return.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which overlooked beautiful views. Our son had room 6 which was slightly on its own if thats what you prefer.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We aave eaten a couple of times at Yarlbury Cottage, and it is our favourite restaurant in Dorset, by far!
A beautifully relaxing atmosphere, freiendly and welcoming, and the food has been perfect both times.
..... but please don't tell everyone, as it is getting harder to book a table!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews