We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite stay despite a party”
Review of Yalbury Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yalbury Cottage
Ranked #2 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Cottage is an easy 10-minute ride from Dorchester and has a relaxed country feel. Our room (number 8) was in the back, away from the restaurant and reception and was quite despite the party celebrating a 40th birthday. The room was comfortable and reasonably large, but nothing exceptional. Breakfast was the typical buffet with some local jams and honey, and there was a good selection of warm entrées. Checking in and out was efficient and pleasant. In short, Yalbury Cottage is more than serviceable, but not exceptional.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at Yalbury Cottage to celebrate a friends birthday, it had been highly recommended to us and although we did not know the area we were looking forward to our stay.
The location was convenient, with beautiful countryside views. Our bedroom was clean and cosy, the hospitality from Ariane and Jim was first class and the food was quite simply outstanding. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 which had a lovely countryside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had another fantastic stay here, everything was just perfect, (thank you for the mushroom deluxe by the way it was delicious!) Would highly recommend this beautiful hotel to everyone.
Thank you again
Pauline & Martin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in September 2013.
After a number of disappointments with stays in Britain over the years it is a pleasure to be able to think - yes I would want to go back and could recommend it to anyone (and I'm a bit picky!) Indeed several other guests had returned many times, they told us
Our room was comfortable and quiet, and everything worked as it should. Food was exceptional, service was efficient and friendly. The hostess was welcoming and helpful. Clearly this is a well-run establishment. Good value for money too.
We did a circular walk from the cottage taking in delightful countryside, Hardy's Cottage and the church where his heart is buried.
What more could you want?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildlifeWatcher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

After a flight from Barcelona we hired a car and set off from Gatwick in search of Bluebells. How wonderful to end the day at Yalbury Cottage in Dorset. Without pre booking or knowledge of the area we were lucky indeed. Room 2, spacious, with crisp linen, pretty tea mugs and a spotless bathroom & with windows opening onto Jack frosted fields, this was the perfect place to wake up. How unexpected was the top notch Dinner, beautifully presented and served with ease. Breakfast under a low beamed ceiling was a busy time, yet strangely quiet.Pansies smiled from patio tubs and a couple of horses said hello.Thank you to all the friendly staff & to Flopsy, Mopsy, Cotton-tail & Peter for showing us where the Bluebells grew. What joy to be in England

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the horse paddock/meadow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSilverTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have just spent the weekend at Yalbury Cottage in Lower Bockhampton for a family wedding nearby. 7 couples/families all stayed there and were made so welcome. The accommodation is lovely, clean and cozy and very comfortable. The patio area is very welcoming and we were so lucky to have sunshine too to enable us to share it.

Breakfast was cooked individually and presented beautifully.

Would have no hesitation in recommending such a lovely B&B & hope to return.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which overlooked beautiful views. Our son had room 6 which was slightly on its own if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We aave eaten a couple of times at Yarlbury Cottage, and it is our favourite restaurant in Dorset, by far!
A beautifully relaxing atmosphere, freiendly and welcoming, and the food has been perfect both times.
..... but please don't tell everyone, as it is getting harder to book a table!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
1.6 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
162 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dorchester Premier Inn
Dorchester Premier Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
970 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Poundbury
317 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little Court
Little Court
#3 of 45 in Dorchester
160 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#4 of 45 in Dorchester
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yalbury Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yalbury Cottage

Address: Lower Bockhampton, Dorchester DT2 8PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range: £71 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yalbury Cottage is a wonderful Dorset country house hotel, near Dorchester. Offering cozy accommodation and award winning cuisine, serving only the very best local produce available. Set in the heart of Thomas Hardy's Dorset and just a short walk from the cottage where he was born and grew up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yalbury Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yalbury Cottage Hotel Dorchester
Yalbury Cottage Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing