We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B &B with amazing service and food”
Review of Yalbury Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yalbury Cottage
Ranked #2 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife and I just got back from a memorable weekend, staying at a Yalbury Cottage. James, welcomed us and looked after us faultlessly and nothing was too much bother. The room was lovely and breakfast was incredible. We were so fortunate that we were able to have Sunday lunch because of a lower number in another party. Ariane, was delightful and her husband is an incredibly gifted chef. We can't recommend this place high enough. We will definitely go back. What a treat! Thank you to all at Yalbury Cottage.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

We regularly visit Yalbury Cottage with our friends for a special treat about every three or four months and we are never disappointed. We had dinner there last night (Saturday 1st February 2014) and the food is to die for. We could not find fault with any aspect of our dinner. The starters were amazing, the main courses (we all had loin of venison) were just perfect, followed by the delicious cheese course and the desserts were all superb. Ariane and her attentive staff are so obliging and friendly but never intrusive. Book very early to avoid disappointment as the restaurant is normally fully booked months in advance. We love Yalbury Cottage so much with its tranquil setting and excellent food that we chose the venue for our small wedding ceremony last year and it was perfect. Thank you Ariane and Jamie.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiandKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

5 generations together at the Yalbury cottage to celebrate a 90th birthday. It couldn't have been better. The accommodation was perfect.. Since we had ALL the rooms, I know they are ALL great. And the food was fantastic. With an x 4 Season exec chef running the kitchen, how could it be anything but great. A weekend in the UK from New York has to be memorable.. This couldn't have been better.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely stay at Yalbury Cottage. It was my first time staying at a B&B and it was a rather lovely experience. The food is where this place really comes into it's own. The owners are lovely also, really keen to help with anything you may need. From an extra bed in our room for our young daughter to giving us a bottle of cordial for her.. Nothing was too much trouble. I expect this from the five star hotels I usually stay at so to have this level of service at a B&B was just wonderful and truly appreciated.
Breakfast was served quickly and was delicious! Rooms were warm and well equipped with toiletries.
Water pressure with the shower wasn't great but I only noticed this as I have a power shower at home. It certainly didn't detract from the pleasure of our stay. The housekeeping was excellent! I can't fault anything. Definitely a cut above your average B&B! Recommended.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank SarahP1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The rooms are perhaps a little dated and could do with revamp but the location is beautiful. We came for an anniversary stay. The welcome was warm and the hotel homely. The food however was to die for. The chef is a genius. Dinner was fantastic. I don't know quite how we managed it but also couldn't resist the tremendous full English breakfast when we saw it the next morning. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This lovely cottage in the heart of the Dorset countryside is the hub of a truly amazing restaurant with extremely comfortable accommodation and the warmest of welcomes.
Jamie and Ariane together with their happy band of staff offer 5 star service and cuisine which is truly out if this world. There is a remarkable attention to detail both in the presentation of each course at sumptuous meals and in their very comfortable and well appointed rooms is outstanding.
We are recommending Yalbury Cottage to all our friends

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamatee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stopped here for lunch earlier in November.

The lunch menu included a seasonal soup, a range of tapas style platters and desserts.

The food -

Delicious, hearty, food made from the best local produce. The flowerpot bread served with both the soup and the tapas platter was delicious.

Service -

Brilliant, just the right level of attentiveness without being over bearing.

Value -

Great, the food was very well priced for the quality and quantity on offer.

We will definitely be coming back for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Doug_s10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
1.6 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
165 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester
Premier Inn Dorchester
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
979 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
206 reviews
3.1 mi away
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Poundbury
327 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#3 of 45 in Dorchester
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yalbury Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yalbury Cottage

Address: Lower Bockhampton, Dorchester DT2 8PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range: £73 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yalbury Cottage is a wonderful Dorset country house hotel, near Dorchester. Offering cozy accommodation and award winning cuisine, serving only the very best local produce available. Set in the heart of Thomas Hardy's Dorset and just a short walk from the cottage where he was born and grew up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yalbury Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yalbury Cottage Hotel Dorchester
Yalbury Cottage Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing