We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely bonkers” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorset Teddy Bear Museun

Dorset Teddy Bear Museun
Ranked #16 of 38 things to do in Dorchester
Attraction details
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Completely bonkers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Escaping some of the worst weather in a decade we dripped our way around one of the most curious museums I've ever been to. A real jumble-sale of a place with these freaky life sized bears in tableaux! It was worth wasting 20 minutes of your life and a lovely lady on the cash desk who cheered us up as we escaped from the constant downpour outside - maybe if you have kids it would be more fun but even then I doubt it would take much longer to go round - be warned it's nothing special but nothing awful either!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    38
    27
    28
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottm
Level Contributor
208 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fun museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Not a massive museum, but of you like teddy bears well worth a visit! You can get 50p off vouchers (in advance) from the internet.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank catme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“In Out of the Rain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I paid to get in and then realised that the exhibition would take about 10 mins to go round. I tried to imagine the grandchildren here but thought they would like to be a lot more "hands on" than this setting would allow. The last part of the exhibition was dedicated to something I could buy! (no way!) I got out of the rain and enjoyed looking at the collection but most of the main "big attractions" were repro's of the real thing. I think it was a very good cover for a teddy bear shop although the lady who sold the tickets was delightful and knowledgeable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank barbara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
258 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A lovely way to spend 45 mins”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very adorable museum with hundreds of bears in cupboards and a little story to read as you walk round. Downside is that a lot of the bears (Steiff etc) on display are replicas, would be good to have more originals but a lot of the UK childhood bears seem to be original. I imagine children would enjoy it and it's a good way to spend a bit of spare time. Buy the combo entry ticket at £15 and do at least 3 of the 5 available museums to make it worth your money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Went home with one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Love it, the way it has been laid out was fab. Although my husband groaned at first he did have a good time to :-)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank vixxy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dorset Teddy Bear Museun also viewed

 

Been to Dorset Teddy Bear Museun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing