We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXPENSIVE” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terracotta Warriors Museum

Terracotta Warriors Museum
Ranked #20 of 38 things to do in Dorchester
Attraction details
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This museum was such a let down, its very small and not worth any kind of entrance fee let alone what is being charged.
The staff seemed very nice though

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wodger n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    25
    28
    17
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting, unique but costly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The museum is very unique and interesting however there really isn't that much to look at. I would have preferred a little bit more interaction and things to see to justify the cost of the visit. Overall, worth a visit but the cost is high.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JE4936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
258 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Interesting but pricey”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The "museum" is more just a room, with a few replica warriors and some items in a cabinet plus a clothing/armour reconstruction. I did learn a little and found it interesting but my prior knowledge was at about 1 out of 10. I made the mistake of sitting to watch the educational film which went on for almost 40 mins. If I hadn't watched this, my visit would have been over and done within 15 minutes. As it was, being in there for an hour made it seem better value for money. But the vid is quite long and slow in places. Could easily be done in a few mins, or you could read the history on your phone on Wikipedia in mere moments!
Buy the combo entry ticket at £15 and do at least 3 of the 5 available to make it worth your money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Brillant. Make sure you watch the film. Well worth a visit. For something that is small area they really made you feel that you were in a big museum..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank vixxy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“The museum of the "Terracotta Warriors" - Dorchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Well it's a lot cheaper and easier to find, rather than going to China (LOL) The museum has several "Terracotta Warriors" (albeit they are terracotta copies).

We spent a couple of hours reading all the history of the find and viewing the figures, there is also a couple of videos which give an easier insight into the "first Emporer" of China, Qin Shi Huang di well worth the visit, highly recommended.

The only negative point is that you're NOT allowed to take photographs, as with a lot of these exhibition's/museums.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigalw35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terracotta Warriors Museum also viewed

 

Been to Terracotta Warriors Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing