We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Military history”

The Keep Military Museum
Ranked #5 of 45 things to do in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are a family friendly museum and we attract all ages. We aim to educate, inspire and to honour the sacrifices made by the members of our Regiments. Our displays cover four floors and take you on a 300 year journey through time. Our artifacts have amazing stories to tell, some will surprise you! Don’t forget to visit the roof for panoramic views of Dorchester and the Dorset countryside. The Museum is fully accessible with a lift to every floor (apart from the roof), we encourage people to take photographs – no flash and share their visit to the Museum with us. Due to the nature of our collection only Assistance Dogs are allowed in the building. We have a small car park at the back of the Museum for visitor use. If you are a UK Taxpayer you can Gift Aid your admission and enjoy a free annual museum pass at no extra cost!
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Good reference point to research for a project, From the rood of building there are panoramic views of Dorchester - County town of Dorset.

2  Thank AngelinaArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKeepMuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Keep Military Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Hi Angelina,
Sorry for long delay, just thanking you for your review and seeing if you'd like to join us on fb where there are lots more photos and stories to inspire you, to get the right one look under three words keep military museum.
All the best
The Keep Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

A very informative museum, lots to see and do for children and adults alike, set over several floors in a castle shaped building, and a great view of the town and the surrounding countryside from the roof

1  Thank figgy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKeepMuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Keep Military Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Hi Figgy
sorry for such a long delay in thanking you for your review, but thank you!
Have you joined us on fb? If not we're under three words - keep military museum.
all the best
The Keep Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

If you are interested in things military and would like to see some really interesting items (for example Hitler's desk from the Reich Chancellery) then pay a visit.Spent over three hours in here viewing some fascinating exhibits.

Thank athersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKeepMuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Keep Military Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Good Afternoon to you in Lyme Regis, hope it's sunnier than Dorchester!
Sorry for the delay but just to say thanks v much for such a lovely review. Hope you'll come again soon and perhaps join us on our fb pg by searching keep military museum
all the best
The Keep Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is an interesting place to visit with an outstanding view from the top of the building. There is a good range of milatary equipment on show from old to recent. If in Dorchester for the day this is worth a visit if you have an interest in this.

Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKeepMuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Keep Military Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

William, thanks for your review. This is a long overdue response! You may be interested to know that we have a good collection of interesting stories and photos on our fb page, just search under keep military museum and join us!
all the best
The Keep Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a lovely visit on a Saturday ! There was things that kept my two kids busy holding decommissioned guns and playing dress up in period uniforms while my husband took his time looking at the displays I caught up on some family histories we spent nearly 3 hours there.
There was not too much in the shop to purchase except books which is a bit of a blessing as it helps save money. I would certainly visit again.

Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKeepMuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Keep Military Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Caroline,
Just looking at some of our older reviews and realized we'd not thanked you for yours. So thank you! Hopefully you'll be coming again soon. We've updated the Trench and think you'll be impressed. Join us on fb too for offers and more items of interest, just search keep military museum.
All the best
The Keep Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Keep Military Museum also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to The Keep Military Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing