We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rather nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
saxmundham, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“rather nice hotel”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

A nice hotel with pleasant staff. Excellent check in, very comfortable rooms and clean bathrooms! Beds are currently sheets and blankets, but evidently duvets are to arrive soon. This will be an improvement! Breakfast is very good, although if you ask for tea, you will most likely get coffee - Magda is rather mardy in the mornings, and does not smile, even when she is dumping your toast on the table. Evening food is rather hit or miss, sometimes OK, sometimes not - and a bit expensive for what it is. However, there are plenty of other places to eat within walking distance, and a Wetherspoons just down the road. The wifi is free, but again, not available, or patchy, in some of the rooms. All in all, a very pleasant stay, and I would recommend to those needing somewhere nice in the area

Room Tip: try to get one at the front, the wifi seems better here, and although they are on the main street, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmp1968uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    136
    68
    16
    14
See reviews for
57
167
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at the Royale Wessex Hotel for two nights in February. Originally a Georgian townhouse, it has been tastefully decorated and refurnished. It is ideally located in High West Street, and convenient for exploring Dorchester on foot. Parking in Dorchester is notoriously limited and can be expensive, and, although the hotel’s car park (which is at the rear of the property) is small and only has limited capacity, it was the only hotel with vacancies in the centre of Dorchester that we could find with onsite parking. The parking space was very tight and came on a first come first served basis. We had a deluxe room at the front of the building. The room was very hot when we first arrived, although the heating did not appear to be on. We found a small fan in the closet and opened one of the windows which did the trick. Despite being at the front of the building facing the very busy High Street, we did not find the traffic noise intrusive and in fact the traffic on the High Street is relatively quiet in the evenings. The room was a good size with some nice period features, including a very uneven floor. The bath room was also a good size. My husband had trouble with the variations in temperature of the shower, but I found with a bit of delicate handling a reasonable shower could be taken even if the temperature did fluctuate a little. Tip – don’t turn the water (either hot or cold) on full, just treat it gently and you should be OK. The room had plenty of hanging and draw space, tea making facilities, hair dryer etc. The lounge area and bar were very comfortable, and the bar menu was reasonable both in quantity and quality. Breakfast was in the dining room and was plentiful and varied. The reception staff, and dining/bar staff were very helpful and courteous. This hotel has a 3 star AA rating but is probably closer to 4 than 3 stars, bearing in mind its location, and the quality of the deluxe room. I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneThePain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a wedding party. Hotel is clean enough but the decor is is quite dated. That being said all of the staff were absolutley great, friendly and very helpful. Especially the bar staff who let us have a very very late drink!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Food below average for money namely veg overcooked, soggy and saturated in water, turkey seemed to be reconstituted compressed meat, plate swimming in gravy. Stuffing like something the dog chucked. Coffee instant and served in pots. Little or no ambience.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed here for two weeks on business. Great location in the centre of Dorchester, Staff were lovely and made me feel very welcome. The rooms were clean and the free wifi was great. Breakfast was great but perhaps finished a little early. There were however a few things which let the room down. Firstly was the bed, i really don't understand the hotels objection to duvet's sleeping under the three layers of blankets was not the most comfortable experience and i do question the ability to launder the blankets the same way you could duvet covers. The second issue for me was the showers. Although they give warning on your bathroom wall it really isn't on for the water to wildly fluctuate in temperature, you have two choices you could have it changing between ice cold and lukewarm or warm and burning hot, I in the end just chose to have baths, not something you really want to have to do if you leave the hotel at 6 in the morning.

If it sorted out the beds and the plumbing i'd happily stay again but until then i think i'll stay away

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lurcherlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Received a very warm welcome upon arrival and breakfast the next morning was good. But this place could really do with a refresh - the decor dates back to the 80s, which is unfortunate. The bed in my room was really creaky although fortunately this didn't keep me awake during my night's stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The Wessex Royale is a 3 star hotel, so our expectations were based on that level of rating.

On a wet Tuesday in November we'd been asked to pay an extortionate 130 GBP by the Best Western Kings Arms down the road, which we hastily refused and set off in search of something more in line with our expected budget for a 3 star property in Dorchester for one night.

We arrived at the Wessex Royale and asked about availability at reception. The receptionist was really helpful, showing us 3 rooms of various types and costs. We settled on the middle option, a nice Double Room with a view of the High Street for a much better value-for-money cost of 90 GBP, which included Breakfast, Complementary Bottled Water and a Newspaper.

The hotel is old, dating from 1756, so it was inevitably a bit quaint in places, with creaky and not particularly level floors. The lavatory cistern in our bathroom overflowed into the toilet bowl unless you pressed the flush correctly – we soon learned the secret.

The cooked breakfast in the morning was very good, the local bacon being especially outstanding.

The hotel met our expectations of a realistically priced 3 star hotel. Average, in this case, is not a bad thing. We were well rested, looked after and fed.

Room Tip: If you're taking pot luck, like us, try and get there early for a better choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobWrinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
149 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
103 reviews
5.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,009 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Address: 32 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England (Formerly Wessex Royale Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wessex Royale Hotel is a delightful Georgian era hotel located in the centre of Dorchester. With classically designed rooms and an excellent central location, The Wessex Royale is ideal for a relaxing break.The Hotel was built in 1756 and features all of the elegance and classic features you would expect from such a property, including fireplaces, panelling and a magnificent grand staircase.Bedrooms display a charming and traditional character with supremely comfortable furnishings to help you feel well rested.All rooms have modern en-suite bathrooms with a bath and power shower, premium digital channels and Wireless Internet connections to help you wind down with “home away from home” comforts and little touches that truly make you feel welcome. The á la carte restaurant is open each evening and offers a variety of traditional and exciting new dishes. The meals on offer are of a consistently excellent standard, making the restaurant popular with guests and locals alike. Fully refurbished with air conditioning, offering a wide range of traditional and new world wines to compliment your meal, you are assured a meal of the highest quality.The Wessex Royale Hotel is a family friendly option near the many activities and attractions in the area, including Maiden Castle, Roman Townhouse, Thomas Hardy’s cottage, the Tutankhamun Exhibition, and Dinosaur Museum.Food and wine aficionados will appreciate the in house restaurant, which offers specialty cuisine, homemade desserts, and an impressive wine list. There is also a locally popular bar and lounge, perfect for afternoon tea or a quick glass of beer. This hotel is a popular venue for weddings and other intimate occasions. Limited free parking is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Wessex Royale Hotel Dorchester
Minotel Hotel Wessex Royale
Minotel Dorchester
Dorchester Minotel
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing