We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick lunch stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stopped here last week,very lucky with the parking opposite, I was surprised by the lack of attention when arriving into the hotel, no real indication either of where the reception was, and the young lady who finally served us did not seem in any hurry or did not seem to be interested in asking us if we wanted service. The initial feeling when first walking into the hotel was pretty boring decor, despite this we asked for lunch not being told there was a restaurant ,we only found out when we went to the rest room and we had to ask about it,as the chairs were on top of the tables at the time, but within minutes the restaurant was opened up for us and we sat down to enjoy a pretty good lunch of a beer battered haddock with French frites, excellent fresh fare although the size of the fish was small ,but certainly on quality of the food the restaurant is worth a visit, and in the end the service was ok , perhaps we caught them on a day of staff interviewing and hiring, one can only hope that the new staff they were interviewing turn out to be more attentive than the present staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danny1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest.
We would like to thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us. I am sorry to hear that your lunch didnt start of to well, i can only apologise for this, however i am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Lunch.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

The hotel is friendly and clean and I had a really good breakfast, BUT the bed in my superior room was so firm I found it difficult to sleep. They are on a busy road with high buildings the other side so although large rooms they feel airless. The wifi is not great. Also the parking is in lines in a tight long area so you have to wait to get out sometimes and need to be good reverser.
But the food is fresh and very good and the staff helpful.
With a comfy mattress I would have awarded a four to five mark, the bed is for me the most important thing with cleanliness. The hotel has a lot of character and is in the main part of Dorchester.

Room Tip: Ask for a medium to firm mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us. We are sorry to hear that you didnt sleep to well.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The Wessex Royale Hotel is a comfortable old fashioned establishment. It delivers everything that one could ask for. It is right in the centre of Dorchester and has free parking (limited) you can also park in the street opposite until 8am for free.

Our room (superior double) had a huge comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities and free bottled water. The bathroom was good with lots of fluffy towels.

Everything worked, the I staff are very pleasant and helpful it is very clean and well kept.

We had breakfast which was good and freshly cooked and served with a smile.

This hotel is not trendy or flash, it is slightly old fashioned which is part of the charm. We loved it and will use it again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

the room was clean and warm in a very cold day..
the dinner meal was quite nice and tasty.. the staff were very friendly and helpful
it is nice to have wireless in the room and a free parking for you car
I got only two bad points 1. you can easily hear any movement out in the hall..
2. the check out time is at 11 which i found a bit early
I actually don't mind going back again..

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy_travelguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

15 of us stayed here for my grandson's wedding.
Very warm welcome and excellent service throughout our
3 night stay. The courtyard room for my husband, 91,
was ideal as there were no stairs and equipped for more
disabled people and scooter accessible, with care.
Would certainly recommend and we hope to return for
another trip to Dorchester.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Business in the area took us took historic Dorchester, and this characterful old hotel.Rooms were comfortable and well appointed, and the public areas have obviously been refurbished.....even if this has not been completely successful!. The Dining Room in particular is lacking in atmosphere.
That said, the food was very good. Steaks were generous, tasty and properly cooked. The chicken dish was pronounced very acceptable, and our vegetarian colleague was also pleased. The starter of Thai Fish Soup attracted substantial praise, as did the puddings.The wine list is adequate, and Maria and her colleagues worked hard to make us feel welcome. This hotel makes an effort, it is not 5 star but its staff are courteous and pleasant,and we would certainly use it again.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are undoubtedly superior!!. Request a room on the first floor as there is no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fionnuala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Having stayed here before it was an even better deal booking on the day through booking.com.
Had to travel to Dorset on the spur to visit parents after my mum had a fall and broke her arm.
Booked room 107 online two hours before we checked in and only paid £49 for a double room, The usual warm welcome and fast book in.spotless, warm comfortable room and excellent location for all the local amenities.
queit weekend so unlike our last visit we even managed to park on site, previously we had to use top of town car park 400 yards away.
lovely breakfast though maybe some background music would make you feel less conspicuous having conversation overheard.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room overlooking the car park, they seem to be the mosr recently refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
160 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
627 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
195 reviews
24.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel

Address: 32 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England (Formerly Wessex Royale Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range: £59 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wessex Royale Hotel is a delightful Georgian era hotel located in the centre of Dorchester. With classically designed rooms and an excellent central location, The Wessex Royale is ideal for a relaxing break.The Hotel was built in 1756 and features all of the elegance and classic features you would expect from such a property, including fireplaces, panelling and a magnificent grand staircase.Bedrooms display a charming and traditional character with supremely comfortable furnishings to help you feel well rested.All rooms have modern en-suite bathrooms with a bath and power shower, premium digital channels and Wireless Internet connections to help you wind down with “home away from home” comforts and little touches that truly make you feel welcome. The á la carte restaurant is open each evening and offers a variety of traditional and exciting new dishes. The meals on offer are of a consistently excellent standard, making the restaurant popular with guests and locals alike. Fully refurbished with air conditioning, offering a wide range of traditional and new world wines to compliment your meal, you are assured a meal of the highest quality.The Wessex Royale Hotel is a family friendly option near the many activities and attractions in the area, including Maiden Castle, Roman Townhouse, Thomas Hardy’s cottage, the Tutankhamun Exhibition, and Dinosaur Museum.Food and wine aficionados will appreciate the in house restaurant, which offers specialty cuisine, homemade desserts, and an impressive wine list. There is also a locally popular bar and lounge, perfect for afternoon tea or a quick glass of beer. This hotel is a popular venue for weddings and other intimate occasions. Limited free parking is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Wessex Royale Hotel Dorchester
Minotel Hotel Wessex Royale
Minotel Dorchester
Dorchester Minotel
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing