We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
165
167
81
21
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
167
81
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift night porter car park complimentary newspaper creaky floors lovely hotel honeymoon suite kippers four poster bed bottled water third floor courtyard room lovely room central location eggs benedict family room waiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The hotel is friendly and clean and I had a really good breakfast, BUT the bed in my superior room was so firm I found it difficult to sleep. They are on a busy road with high buildings the other side so although large rooms they feel airless. The wifi is not great. Also the parking is in lines in a tight long area so you have to wait to get out sometimes and need to be good reverser.
But the food is fresh and very good and the staff helpful.
With a comfy mattress I would have awarded a four to five mark, the bed is for me the most important thing with cleanliness. The hotel has a lot of character and is in the main part of Dorchester.

Room tip: Ask for a medium to firm mattress.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us. We are sorry to hear that you didnt sleep to well.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The Wessex Royale Hotel is a comfortable old fashioned establishment. It delivers everything that one could ask for. It is right in the centre of Dorchester and has free parking (limited) you can also park in the street opposite until 8am for free.

Our room (superior double) had a huge comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities and free bottled water. The bathroom was good with lots of fluffy towels.

Everything worked, the I staff are very pleasant and helpful it is very clean and well kept.

We had breakfast which was good and freshly cooked and served with a smile.

This hotel is not trendy or flash, it is slightly old fashioned which is part of the charm. We loved it and will use it again.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonB896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

the room was clean and warm in a very cold day..
the dinner meal was quite nice and tasty.. the staff were very friendly and helpful
it is nice to have wireless in the room and a free parking for you car
I got only two bad points 1. you can easily hear any movement out in the hall..
2. the check out time is at 11 which i found a bit early
I actually don't mind going back again..

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy_travelguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

15 of us stayed here for my grandson's wedding.
Very warm welcome and excellent service throughout our
3 night stay. The courtyard room for my husband, 91,
was ideal as there were no stairs and equipped for more
disabled people and scooter accessible, with care.
Would certainly recommend and we hope to return for
another trip to Dorchester.

Room tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Business in the area took us took historic Dorchester, and this characterful old hotel.Rooms were comfortable and well appointed, and the public areas have obviously been refurbished.....even if this has not been completely successful!. The Dining Room in particular is lacking in atmosphere.
That said, the food was very good. Steaks were generous, tasty and properly cooked. The chicken dish was pronounced very acceptable, and our vegetarian colleague was also pleased. The starter of Thai Fish Soup attracted substantial praise, as did the puddings.The wine list is adequate, and Maria and her colleagues worked hard to make us feel welcome. This hotel makes an effort, it is not 5 star but its staff are courteous and pleasant,and we would certainly use it again.

Room tip: The superior rooms are undoubtedly superior!!. Request a room on the first floor as there is no lift. Parking is limited.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fionnuala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews