We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
162
161
80
21
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
161
80
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift night porter car park complimentary newspaper creaky floors high street lovely hotel honeymoon suite four poster bed third floor courtyard room bottled water lovely room eggs benedict superior room full english family room
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Lovely room overlooking the historic high street. Spotlessly clean. Friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent cooked breakfast. Car parking spaces at the rear of the hotel are limited, but parking on the street is easy and free after six and all day Sunday.
There is a very quiet and comfortable lounge room on the first floor, ideal reading.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank davidgHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of the Hotel

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Arrived for a wedding with a tight schedule and I was treated to great, intelligent service. Had a snug room for the night and left feeling pleased if deeply hungover from the night's celebrations. Recommend highly

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_SMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and we hope you were not suffering for to long.

We hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed for two days at this hotel,the bedroom was lovely, very clean. with a lovely soft bed, we were on the first floor overlooking the main road,a little traffic noise. The food was good and the staff very helpful...However the parking at the back was alittle tight.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzzieNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Parking can be a little tight sometimes, so we always offer to pay for parking if guests have to park elsewhere.

We hope to welcome you back to the Wessex again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here with family after a funeral.Good room,spotlessly clean but the bed! I like a firm bed

but this was like a rock and I didn't realise that it was only a double bed not a kingsize,so I didn't

get much sleep.However great cooked breakfast to compensate.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking car park are very quiet
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanjeanie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us. I am sorry to hear that you didnt sleep to well.

However we are really pleased to hear that you really enjoyed the Breakfast and the Service. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We had a lovely stay here. We had a free upgrade to a very nicely appointed room when we arrived and, although it faced on to the busy Main Street, the traffic noise did not seem overly intrusive. The restaurant was quiet when we ate (at about half past eight in the evening) but the service was good and the food delicious. The mattress was very hard, and that would be the only downside to our stay: we would definitely recommend.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we always try to upgrade people where possible. We hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews