We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at great prices”
Review of The King and Thai

The King and Thai
Ranked #2 of 126 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This restaurant is superb. Restaurant is clean, nicely decorated and the service is spot on. The lunch time menu is excellent with plenty of choice. The food is very fresh and delicious. This venue offers fantastic value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NICOLA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    67
    20
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very pleasant staff!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by a friendly staff member; the restaurant was exceptionally clean and decorated very pleasantly. The waitress who took our orders and delivered our food was very friendly and polite.
Being a vegetarian, there was many options for me to choose from; I settled with the vegetarian Pad Thai which was lovely and a great portion size for the money. My partner also enjoyed his meal too. We will 100% be returning and I definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys genuine Thai cuisine!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PilkingtonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Thai Great price”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This restaurant is one of the real gems of Dorchester. Beautifully presented authentic Thai food at its best. The lunch menu with 3 courses for £10 is fantastic value and just the right amount for a lunchtime treat. Make sure you choose the battered banana and ice cream for the sweet. It is the best I have ever had!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krakatoa56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent food, good service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

One of the few restaurants open in Dorchester on a Monday night out-of-season. The food was good, freshly cooked & the service was excellent. Clean & friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BangorBagCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, beautifully presented”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have eaten here several times and thoroughly recommend this restaurant. The food is fresh with good quality ingredients and local produce used wherever possible, Service is good and prices are very reasonable, well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angie431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The King and Thai also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to The King and Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing