We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new town that will almost double the size of Dorchester when completed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poundbury

Poundbury
Ranked #15 of 38 things to do in Dorchester
Attraction details
Poundbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A new town that will almost double the size of Dorchester when completed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We moved here in December 2012 from Surrey. We took a chance as we did not know Dorset or Dorchester. We wanted somewhere we could retire to yet be within a town setting where we could walk to everything that we wanted. We also wanted a new property but not in some pokey set of boxes that many builders seem wedded to.

Prince Charles has had great influence over this Duchy controlled development and no cost has been spared in using the right materials to give the town the feeling of having copied the styles of the last 100+ years.

We are walking more now than ever before and as there is an electric bus service to Dorchester we have been on the bus a number of times, the first bus experience for over 40 years. We can walk to the dentist, doctor, new hospital, pharmacy, supermarket, cafe, pub, garden centre and pancake cafe, wine importers, leisure centre, spa and several shops.

If Poundbury is maintained to a good standard it will pass the test of time. It is only half completed but it seems as though there is every intention to keep the standard high.

People here are very friendly and this is true for Dorset generally.

We are really happy here!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank BaldEagleDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    54
    54
    29
    30
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Silent Hill?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We found this place accidentally. It was a hot day, we were driving and felt thirsty and we thought here is a town, lets turn there and buy some water in a corner shop! We were driving streets looking for a corner shop or newsagents - there were none! Place looked so weird. there were no people, no cars, buildings looked empty... Pretending being old, but you can see that they are new and uncompleted... We started getting an uneasy feeling: where are we? what is this place? My partner started panicking: this is not a town, this is a building site! We should not be here, we might be arrested or we'll get a ticket..we must get out from here! It was a most surreal and unsuspected experience - as if we have entered Silent Hill... Later I decided to find out what it was, and if other people also are getting this uneasy feeling - and it happens to be Prince Charles' fantasy project, his idea of how an ideal British town and a place for people to live should be! Well done Charles, you have created a most sinister and unwelcome place. though i would like to go there again and would recommend to others - just for this creepy experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ausrute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Opinions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

What's most interesting about Poundbury is that everyone has an opinion - good or bad. Mine? I liked it. If you are going to build a town from bare earth up then this, for me, is the way to do it. The buildings have charm with a variety of styles on offer and the shops, scattered around its streets, have great charm too. The place is tranquil, no panic about parking, you can stop almost anywhere - how good is that in this day and age? It's clean too, an absence of litter and graffiti being another rarity these days. I was slightly surprised that there weren't more green areas, knowing how HRH likes green, but otherwise I could live there and I don't say that about many towns. By all means read the comments here but far better to visit and decide for yourself and, if you do, make sure you have a crepe at Mr Crepe's Cuisine in Challacombe Square - a real not to be missed treat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Bopeep1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An attractive movie set”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We came across Poundbury by taking a wrong turning into Dorchester but was sufficiently intrigued to enquire as to what it was at the helpful Tourist Information in Dorchester. We returned for further investigation. It really did feel as if we were on some very attractive movie set before the actors arrived. I loved the varied house designs and the materials used and the Garden Centre was delightful. It also reminded me of our visit to Port Sunlight also conceived with the very best of intentions and a desire to create something beautiful, long lasting and life enhancing which is more than can be said for the great majority of soulless modern housing estates. Maybe in a few years Pounbury will look a bit more lived in. I hope to return to see how it has settled into itself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poundbury - Give it a Miss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I found Pounbury by accident. The squat, grim looking tower visible from the A35 suggested a prison or military complex, but on further investigation I discovered it was in fact the planned town that was Prince Charles' pet architectural project. It is thoroughly misconceived in almost every respect. It has the atmosphere of a town that was abandoned in 1850 - virtually nobody around, and bereft of anything approaching "modern" architecture. There is no real town center - just rambling streets with the odd high-end shop dotted here and there. No sign of a school or other civic amenity. Some of the buildings are attractive enough in and of themselves, but too many of them look like commercial structures (banks, solicitors' offices, etc.) ripped from a high street and dumped in a residential street next to country cottages. It is a sad pastiche of an English small town of the kind you might find in Disneyworld.

Given all of the publicity surrounding Poundbury it may be interesting to see it at first hand, but there is absolutely no reason to go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poundbury also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to Poundbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing