We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful piece of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Wren Cottage sits in an elevated and quiet position in the historic village of Tolpuddle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage sits in an elevated and quiet position in the historic village of Tolpuddle
A modern kitchen diner with painted units and furniture.  Patio doors lead out onto the garden The dining end of the kitchen - light and bright with country furniture from Neptune
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Wren Cottage sits in an elevated and quiet position in the historic village of Tolpuddle
A modern kitchen diner with painted units and furniture.  Patio doors lead out onto the garden
The dining end of the kitchen - light and bright with country furniture from Neptune
The lounge has flat screen tv, dvd, wi-fi, ipod docking, many games, dvds, and books
Close up of the cast iron electric 'wood burner' - great for a cosy evening in
The king size bedroom is wonderfully quiet - and has views.  Many comment on the comfort of the bed!
The twin bedroom is lovely and bright and has views over countryside.
The view from the bedrooms looks over beautiful countryside - walk on a footpath from the village
The spacious shower room is adjacent to the Main Bedroom - Dorset based Farrow and Ball paints!
A Bathroom with hand held shower attachment is adjacent to the twin bedroom
The garden is a good size - it is safe and fully enclosed.  There is furniture, a parasol and BBQ
The Martyrs Inn, Tolpuddle is nearby and offers great service, good food and a friendly welcom
Burger and Chips at the Martyrs Inn - we are pleased to offer you a discount here
Athelhampton (1.5 miles) a C15 Manor House with gardens, shop, tea room/restaurant, & art gallery
The Tolpuddle Martyrs Museum is a short walk away and tells the story of the Martyrs
The Methodist Chapel, Tolpuddle with memorial arch to the Martyrs
The nearby children's play area has been much praised by visitors
Tolpuddle Village - the old main road runs through the village leaving it nice and quiet these days
Fishing is available at Tolpuddle - a short walk from the cottage
Monkey World - a great day out for all the family
The Piddle Valley boasts some spectacular views - an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
The locals are very friendly at the seaside - try Lulworth, Weymouth, West Bay (Broadchurch)
Dogs are welcome at Wren Cottage - our cocker spaniel Watson enjoying the beach
The village of Moreton (6 miles) - tea rooms, gardens, fabulous church windows, T E Lawrence's grave
Kimmeridge - a new reason to visit is the fabulous Etches Collection of fossils
Nearby Stinsford has the grave of Thomas Hardy
Look out for deer, badgers and hares
Lower Bockhampton - Lovely walk from Stanford, Yalbury Cottage Restaurant & Hardy Visitor Centre
The Dorset County Show - something for everyone to enjoy
We have yet to find a pub which is not dog friendly and many beaches are too - we'll send you a list
From Ringstead Bay you can walk along the coastal path
St Catherine's Chapel - one of many reasons to visit Abbotsbury - the Swannery and Gardens too
Lyme Regis makes for a great day out
Portland lighthouse - windy and wild
Sculpture by the lakes - some 5 miles away - is a haven of peace and tranquility
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fluffy100...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of heaven”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely enjoyed every moment of my one week stay with my dog absolutely peaceful. Lovely home modern but with a country feel great location right near a lovely pub great walks and a truly fun and relaxing week in a very comfy house with a lot of extras provided 100% service x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
So glad you found Wren Cottage at Tolpuddle to be so comfortable and peaceful - now that the A35 takes all the traffic, it has left the old "main road" nice and quiet yet still handy for ease of access for travel around the area, as you found. Its good that you found some great walks and that you enjoyed the Martyrs Inn as well - we are lucky to have so much to explore close by.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and comfort of every room
Liked least: Only one wc upstairs when 4 adults staying and lack of cd player, although ipod docking station provided for those who are more technically up to date
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for your review Wendy and I am glad that you enjoyed your Christmas break at Wren Cottage. As you said in your email to me, it's the little things that count and we think that we are able to provide these by virtue of staying regularly ourselves and knowing what is needed to make a stay here everything you would hope for. You have already booked to return next year when I trust the weather will be kinder to you and you can enjoy the garden and more exploration of the area - there really is a huge amount to enjoy, from coast to country.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
madmadand...
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our first time but hopefully not the last”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A perfect holiday cottage with all necessary extras. We were thoroughly delighted at the standard of accommodation and fixtures at this modern property. Comfortable bed, very warm, Broadband for keeping up with work emails !. No complaints whatsoever. We found that O2 mobile doesn't work here at all. The only network is EE. If you need a phone buy a cheap EE pay as you go and set your phone to divert all calls to that number.I found that there is a strong O2 signal outside Londis at Puddletown. We would be more than happy to live in this property permanently.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
It is very gratifying to hear that you were delighted with Wren Cottage. We are aware of the mobile telephone issues in the Piddle Valley and do point this out on our Booking Form so that you can test your phone's range in the area before you come if this important to you. I guess being happy to live in the cottage is as higher recommendation as we could get - as you have discovered West Dorset is a beautiful part of the world with lots to explore and we hope that you found the maps, books and tourist information helpful. We try to cater for all weathers by providing a library of both fiction and DVDs as well as a cupboard full of games and I know that it was quite mixed during your stay. I love the coast at this time of year and a good bracing walk with or without a dog helps work up a good appetite for a hearty lunch of great Dorset produce - we particularly recommend the Blue Vinney at Puddletown.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUYTJE
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such a warm, welcoming and stylish cottage.”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I have stayed at this cottage on a number of occasions now and cannot recommend it highly enough. The owners have very evidently gone out of their way to make their guests feel welcomed and valued. The cottage is beautifully presented and maintained to a very high standard. I travel with my two dogs and finding a holiday property that really does have a fully enclosed and safe garden for dogs is, for me, the icing on the cake. Can't wait for my next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time and trouble to review - it is always good to hear how much our holidaymakers have enjoyed their stay at Wren Cottage. As we have a dog ourselves, and have stayed at "dog friendly" cottages with insecure gardens, we do understand how important this issue is and Dorset is awash with dog friendly pubs which is always useful too! Thank you for your kind comments - and, yes, we do care!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajeffo
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage - a real home from home”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Wren cottage is a wonderfully comfortable, cosy cottage that is ideally situated for exploring all that Dorset has to offer. The cottage has everything you need - and more! The decor is excellent and everything has been finished to a very high standard. We would happily live there permanently! The whole booking process was extremely efficient and the owners clearly care that guests have the best stay possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our dog friendly cottage in Tolpuddle! As you say, it is well situated to explore the area and I know you made good use of the Martrys Inn which is so handy. It is especially rewarding to hear that you could live there as we really do aim to provide a "home from home" by providing all that you could need and John Lewis, Marks and Spencer and Neptune all helped us create this. The balance of the decorating will be done in the next few weeks so Wren Cottage will look even smarter than before!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Service
Liked best: Home from home feel of the cottage
Liked least: Poor mobile reception
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for your review and it is so great to read your comments. We bought Wren Cottage a few years after our first cottage and chose it for its ideal location and light and bright interior not to mention the peace and quiet and the views from the front of the house. We are about to have the inside decorated so it will be lovely and fresh for Autumn and Winter visitors. Our cocker spaniel, Watson, loves to visit Dorset too and everywhere is so dog friendly which is a boon - perhaps if we are staying at West Lane Cottage when you are next at Wren the dogs can meet up! We understand your comment about mobile reception - the Piddle Valley generally is very mixed - which is why we highlight this in our booking form. You can check coverage using http://www.ofcom.org.uk/mobile-coverage but it seems that both Vodaphone and EE are fine but 02 and Three may not be. We await improvements in rural broadband and mobile coverage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely kitchen
Liked least: TV was a little small
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review of Wren Cottage - so good to hear that you have everything that you needed here - we have tried to think of everything required for a self catering holiday, including comfortable beds! I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Martyrs Inn - it is great to have this well run pub so close - the Fish and Chip Friday, Curry Night on Monday and Sunday Carvery are all very popular so visitors should note that it is as well to book for these.

"So much to see and do" is a comment we hear often and we hope you will come back for a third visit sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing