We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in beautiful village”
other travellers have booked this property
Wren Cottage sits in an elevated and quiet position in the historic village of Tolpuddle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage sits in an elevated and quiet position in the historic village of Tolpuddle
A modern kitchen diner with painted units and furniture.  Patio doors lead out onto the garden The dining end of the kitchen - light and bright with country furniture from Neptune
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Wren Cottage sits in an elevated and quiet position in the historic village of Tolpuddle
A modern kitchen diner with painted units and furniture.  Patio doors lead out onto the garden
The dining end of the kitchen - light and bright with country furniture from Neptune
The lounge has flat screen tv, dvd, wi-fi, ipod docking, many games, dvds, and books
Close up of the cast iron electric 'wood burner' - great for a cosy evening in
The king size bedroom is wonderfully quiet - and has views.  Many comment on the comfort of the bed!
The twin bedroom is lovely and bright and has views over countryside.
The view from the bedrooms looks over beautiful countryside - walk on a footpath from the village
The spacious shower room is adjacent to the Main Bedroom - Dorset based Farrow and Ball paints!
A Bathroom with hand held shower attachment is adjacent to the twin bedroom
The garden is a good size - it is safe and fully enclosed.  There is furniture, a parasol and BBQ
The Martyrs Inn, Tolpuddle is nearby and offers great service, good food and a friendly welcom
Burger and Chips at the Martyrs Inn - we are pleased to offer you a discount here
Athelhampton (1.5 miles) a C15 Manor House with gardens, shop, tea room/restaurant, & art gallery
The Tolpuddle Martyrs Museum is a short walk away and tells the story of the Martyrs
The Methodist Chapel, Tolpuddle with memorial arch to the Martyrs
The nearby children's play area has been much praised by visitors
Tolpuddle Village - the old main road runs through the village leaving it nice and quiet these days
Fishing is available at Tolpuddle - a short walk from the cottage
Monkey World - a great day out for all the family
The Piddle Valley boasts some spectacular views - an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
The locals are very friendly at the seaside - try Lulworth, Weymouth, West Bay (Broadchurch)
Dogs are welcome at Wren Cottage - our cocker spaniel Watson enjoying the beach
The village of Moreton (6 miles) - tea rooms, gardens, fabulous church windows, T E Lawrence's grave
Kimmeridge - a new reason to visit is the fabulous Etches Collection of fossils
Nearby Stinsford has the grave of Thomas Hardy
Look out for deer, badgers and hares
Lower Bockhampton - Lovely walk from Stanford, Yalbury Cottage Restaurant & Hardy Visitor Centre
The Dorset County Show - something for everyone to enjoy
We have yet to find a pub which is not dog friendly and many beaches are too - we'll send you a list
From Ringstead Bay you can walk along the coastal path
St Catherine's Chapel - one of many reasons to visit Abbotsbury - the Swannery and Gardens too
Lyme Regis makes for a great day out
Portland lighthouse - windy and wild
Sculpture by the lakes - some 5 miles away - is a haven of peace and tranquility
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Graham M
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely house in beautiful village”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just had a wonderful week in this house with my family.Arrived on Saturday in glorious sunshine and had a drink and meal in the local pub where the owner has negotiated a good discount.
Just about everything has been thought of to make your stay comfortable , coffee maker barbecue dishwasher wifi etc.
Lots of books on the bookshelf about the area plus Ordnance Survey maps-Thankyou very much , this was a nice thought...we enjoy birdwatching and there was even a book about the local birdwatching spots which resulted in an evening watching nightjars which was a real delight.
On a practical note there was a minor issue with electrics/alarm during our stay but this was rectified within an hour of us contacting the owner who turned out an engineer without quibble.
One tip ....the bookings are Friday to Friday...this is made quite clear but for some inexplicable reason we assumed it was Saturday to Saturday....I was very red faced when the cleaner arrived to prepare for changeover and I thought we had an extra night !
Again this was handled with sensitive humour by the owners and a very nice e-mail on our return home...we will definitely book again (and read the small print !!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: village location
Liked least: leaving to come home !
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review - you were certainly unlucky with your holiday and I would not have been surprises if we had not heard from you again! It was a pleasure to have you as holidaymakers and I do hope that you return again without incident next time. As you know, the alarm incident is now resolved and I am so glad we were able to get an emergency engineer out so quickly to you that evening. You are the second holidaymakers to make the mistake over the arrival and departure day - I have tried to resolve this issue by stating "Friday" on all documentation but I will also make up a note to go in the Visitor Folder as another precaution.

Lovely to hear about the nightjars - next time you should visit the various RSPB sites in the area as well as Portland where they often get rare bird sightings.

Thanks again for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy2768
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a truly wonderful holiday home in a gorgeous location”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wren Cottage in Tolpuddle is one of the loveliest holiday homes I've ever stayed in. the quality of the fixtures and fittings and the comfort and cleanliness are second to none. everything you needed was there. It made the holiday so relaxing. I would highly recommend it to anyone as long as no one books the week in March I want! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything - it's truly wonderful
Liked least: nothing. there was absolutely nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Thank you for posting such a great review for Wren Cottage - we are so glad that you enjoyed it and had a relaxing holiday. No need to worry about booking "your week" for 2017 as you booked it before you came home from your holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suelovesp...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect peaceful cottage!”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Absolutely loved my week at Wren Cottage in Tolpuddle. A real home from home. Immaculate and so comfortable and in a great part of Dorset for exploring. Cant wait to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
It is very rewarding to hear from people who enjoyed their holiday at Wren Cottage - thank you. We have tried to provide everything that you might need whilst on holiday and I am sure you will find new places to explore when you return next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fluffy100...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of heaven”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely enjoyed every moment of my one week stay with my dog absolutely peaceful. Lovely home modern but with a country feel great location right near a lovely pub great walks and a truly fun and relaxing week in a very comfy house with a lot of extras provided 100% service x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
So glad you found Wren Cottage at Tolpuddle to be so comfortable and peaceful - now that the A35 takes all the traffic, it has left the old "main road" nice and quiet yet still handy for ease of access for travel around the area, as you found. Its good that you found some great walks and that you enjoyed the Martyrs Inn as well - we are lucky to have so much to explore close by.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and comfort of every room
Liked least: Only one wc upstairs when 4 adults staying and lack of cd player, although ipod docking station provided for those who are more technically up to date
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for your review Wendy and I am glad that you enjoyed your Christmas break at Wren Cottage. As you said in your email to me, it's the little things that count and we think that we are able to provide these by virtue of staying regularly ourselves and knowing what is needed to make a stay here everything you would hope for. You have already booked to return next year when I trust the weather will be kinder to you and you can enjoy the garden and more exploration of the area - there really is a huge amount to enjoy, from coast to country.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
madmadand...
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our first time but hopefully not the last”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A perfect holiday cottage with all necessary extras. We were thoroughly delighted at the standard of accommodation and fixtures at this modern property. Comfortable bed, very warm, Broadband for keeping up with work emails !. No complaints whatsoever. We found that O2 mobile doesn't work here at all. The only network is EE. If you need a phone buy a cheap EE pay as you go and set your phone to divert all calls to that number.I found that there is a strong O2 signal outside Londis at Puddletown. We would be more than happy to live in this property permanently.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
It is very gratifying to hear that you were delighted with Wren Cottage. We are aware of the mobile telephone issues in the Piddle Valley and do point this out on our Booking Form so that you can test your phone's range in the area before you come if this important to you. I guess being happy to live in the cottage is as higher recommendation as we could get - as you have discovered West Dorset is a beautiful part of the world with lots to explore and we hope that you found the maps, books and tourist information helpful. We try to cater for all weathers by providing a library of both fiction and DVDs as well as a cupboard full of games and I know that it was quite mixed during your stay. I love the coast at this time of year and a good bracing walk with or without a dog helps work up a good appetite for a hearty lunch of great Dorset produce - we particularly recommend the Blue Vinney at Puddletown.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUYTJE
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such a warm, welcoming and stylish cottage.”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I have stayed at this cottage on a number of occasions now and cannot recommend it highly enough. The owners have very evidently gone out of their way to make their guests feel welcomed and valued. The cottage is beautifully presented and maintained to a very high standard. I travel with my two dogs and finding a holiday property that really does have a fully enclosed and safe garden for dogs is, for me, the icing on the cake. Can't wait for my next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time and trouble to review - it is always good to hear how much our holidaymakers have enjoyed their stay at Wren Cottage. As we have a dog ourselves, and have stayed at "dog friendly" cottages with insecure gardens, we do understand how important this issue is and Dorset is awash with dog friendly pubs which is always useful too! Thank you for your kind comments - and, yes, we do care!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing