We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dog friendly holiday stay in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Wren Cottage sits in an elevated and quiet position in the historic village of Tolpuddle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage sits in an elevated and quiet position in the historic village of Tolpuddle
A modern kitchen diner with painted units and furniture.  Patio doors lead out onto the garden The dining end of the kitchen - light and bright with country furniture from Neptune
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Wren Cottage sits in an elevated and quiet position in the historic village of Tolpuddle
A modern kitchen diner with painted units and furniture.  Patio doors lead out onto the garden
The dining end of the kitchen - light and bright with country furniture from Neptune
The lounge has flat screen tv, dvd, wi-fi, ipod docking, many games, dvds, and books
Close up of the cast iron electric 'wood burner' - great for a cosy evening in
The king size bedroom is wonderfully quiet - and has views.  Many comment on the comfort of the bed!
The twin bedroom is lovely and bright and has views over countryside.
The view from the bedrooms looks over beautiful countryside - walk on a footpath from the village
The spacious shower room is adjacent to the Main Bedroom - Dorset based Farrow and Ball paints!
A Bathroom with hand held shower attachment is adjacent to the twin bedroom
The garden is a good size - it is safe and fully enclosed.  There is furniture, a parasol and BBQ
The Martyrs Inn, Tolpuddle is nearby and offers great service, good food and a friendly welcom
Burger and Chips at the Martyrs Inn - we are pleased to offer you a discount here
Athelhampton (1.5 miles) a C15 Manor House with gardens, shop, tea room/restaurant, & art gallery
The Tolpuddle Martyrs Museum is a short walk away and tells the story of the Martyrs
The Methodist Chapel, Tolpuddle with memorial arch to the Martyrs
The nearby children's play area has been much praised by visitors
Tolpuddle Village - the old main road runs through the village leaving it nice and quiet these days
Fishing is available at Tolpuddle - a short walk from the cottage
Monkey World - a great day out for all the family
The Piddle Valley boasts some spectacular views - an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
The locals are very friendly at the seaside - try Lulworth, Weymouth, West Bay (Broadchurch)
Dogs are welcome at Wren Cottage - our cocker spaniel Watson enjoying the beach
The village of Moreton (6 miles) - tea rooms, gardens, fabulous church windows, T E Lawrence's grave
Kimmeridge - a new reason to visit is the fabulous Etches Collection of fossils
Nearby Stinsford has the grave of Thomas Hardy
Look out for deer, badgers and hares
Lower Bockhampton - Lovely walk from Stanford, Yalbury Cottage Restaurant & Hardy Visitor Centre
The Dorset County Show - something for everyone to enjoy
We have yet to find a pub which is not dog friendly and many beaches are too - we'll send you a list
From Ringstead Bay you can walk along the coastal path
St Catherine's Chapel - one of many reasons to visit Abbotsbury - the Swannery and Gardens too
Lyme Regis makes for a great day out
Portland lighthouse - windy and wild
Sculpture by the lakes - some 5 miles away - is a haven of peace and tranquility
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gary429
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dog friendly holiday stay in great location”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A home away from home stay in a lovely English village with it's own place in history. So many nearby places of interest and also close to the Jurassic Coast.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you for your 5* review of Wren Cottage - we do appreciate it! Thanks also for your email to the effect that it was worth the 10 hour journey - it really is important that you are happy after that sort of trip. We hope you and or your friends/family will make a trip again at some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
1 review
“Great cottage and area”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very clean, home from home cottage which is situated in great location. Thoroughly enjoyed our week's holiday and would recommend this to anyone. Has everything you need in a self catering cottage.

Durdles Door definitely worth a visit. Beautiful beach.

A trip to Lyme Regis is worth a visit to see Red Arrows display. Once a year but worth the hours drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your review of West Lane Cottage in Tolpuddle. We do hope to provide all you could need whilst staying in a holiday cottage - we have stayed in too many places without vegetable peelers, sharp knives, or comfy beds/settees ourselves to know how important home comforts are! Glad you enjoyed Lyme and Durdle Door - both iconic destinations and I did see some great photographs of the red arrows display. We have new cleaners this year (twice the price!) so good to hear that they did a good job!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic cottage set in the middle of Tolpuddle with excellent facilities”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage was superbly comfortable, being in close proximity to the fantastic beaches in Weymouth, Swanage, Shell Bay and Bridport. The cottage is in the centre of a a lovely village and, if the weather is a problem, it has a couple of very relaxing hostelries within easy walking distance. Have no hesitation in recommending this clean, modern cottage as a lovely holiday home for us and the dog!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thanks for leaving a review about your stay at Wren Cottage. We are glad that you had a good time and certainly did some exploring of the local beaches - lovely to hear that you will recommend us - it's the best form of advertising there is!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scm203
Hampshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful pet friendly cottage with great location”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Had a great week at Wren Cottage, the cottage is beautifully decorated and had all amenities we needed for our holiday. The area is stunning, there are some lovely local walks and it was very peaceful. Good local pub just a stroll around the corner. Wren cottage was in a great location for days out around Dorset to Sherbourne, Dorchester, Lulworth cove, Corfe Castle, Swanage etc. Dog friendly cottage which is a must for us and our Lab. The owner always answered our emails swiftly. We will stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
What a lovely review, thank you! It is centrally placed, as you say, for exploring the delights of West Dorset being near enough to the A road for ease of access and yet quiet. As dog owners ourselves, we know it is important to have a safe and secure garden for them and there is a good choice of year round dog friendly beaches and countryside to explore. You'd be very welcome to return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter E
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Cottage and location are fantastic and full of character. We have plans to return.
The cottage is well equiped and comfortable for a relaxing holiday to recharge the batteries.
Being in a central location, it gives easy access to Dorset's attractions.
The local residents are very friendly and we were made very welcome, along with our labrador dogs.. The Martyrs Inn is well worth a visit.
For the energetic there are a number of local walks, along with many coastal strolls.
I would recommend a swim through the arch at Durdle Door, but wear a wetsuit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
The Martyrs Inn will be pleased to note your comments as, of course, are we! We find that Dorset is a very dog friendly county and have yet to find a pub where our cocker spaniel was not welcome. As you say, the cottage is well located to explore both town and country as well as the Jurassic Coast - I must dig out my wetsuit! Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts on Wren Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEORGEWS
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A brilliant short stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A mid week booking enabled us to tour around Dorset and the stunning coastline.
The cottage is in a perfect location with a pub with good food on the doorstep!
It is tastefully furnished with everything you could wish for in a holiday let. Comfortable, spacious and in a quiet location. A great Spring break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
We are so glad that you had a good holiday in lovely West Dorset and enjoyed seeing the sights near and far. Good too that you liked the cottage, its quiet location, and the nearby village pub. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Had 10 days over Christmas and New Year. House was 'dressed' for Christmas which was a nice touch. Comfortable in every way with good facilities. Located in a peaceful village with a great pub, and a short distance from Dorchester. An all year round holiday let.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
I know from your mail to me on your return that you "had a lovely time at the cottage over Christmas and would certainly recommend it" which is always nice to here. I'm glad that you appreciated the peaceful location and the Martyrs Inn which is very close by and handy for a meal out after a busy day exploring. Thank you for taking the time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing