We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Ranked #14 of 123 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family owned Free House serving up traditional pub fare, 7 days a week carvery, daily specials, extensive wine list, real ales, open fires, beer garden, car parking...
home
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Sun has improved greatly, we had an excellent Dinner but the only thing I would say is that I don't like skinny chips it reminds me of Mc'Donalds, but that is a personnal thing, the staff are lovely and it was warm and cosy inside on a horrible winter night wet and windy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cleggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    91
    25
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Visited this pub on a Saturday lunch time with my family very pleasant atmosphere and very friendly staff found the food very good indeed with a lovely Carvery the kids tried the fish finger sandwiches and thought they were fab all in all very good and will certainly go again

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnee100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor show”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We have visited this pub a few times with very mixed reviews, last time we ate here the food was mediocre at best, cold potatoes, limp veg, over cooked meat... However as we have had positive experiences here in the past we decided to give it another go, wrong decision! We were greeted by pure chaos! Advised that there would be a "significant wait" by the young lady near the entrance we quickly turned on our heals (along with a large group of other potential diners) and left. After consulting our trusty trip advisor app we decide upon an alternative eatery only 2 mins down the road, the gamekeeper, and what a good decision that was! Talk about clouds and silver linings! Anyone thinking of eating here, don't bother, head down the road for a far tastier experience! Pull your socks up sun!

Helpful?
3 Thank Billysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hit and miss?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

The carvery looked wonderful and the pub was warm and cosy. Sadly we opted for the pulled pork wrap. The pulled pork was infact sliced pork (?from carvery) mixed with what tasted like bottled sweet and sour sauce, leaving a sickly sweet tough pork wrap... Yuk. We ate it as we were hungry and didnt want to wait another 30mins for something else. Other people's food looked lovely though so i suspect we were just unlucky with our choice, but we wont be returning to try something else.

Helpful?
1 Thank oscarthedoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vast improvement- above excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We visited this quaint and quintessentially British pub on Christmas eve. We were very surprised how relaxed and in control the staff were considering how hectic Christmas eve can be. Our needs were quickly accommodated and we were situated next to a gloriously festive open fire. We ordered a variety of dishes from the menu, including the carvery, and promptly served by a friendly smile. The food was delicious, as obvious care had been taken over sourcing fresh products and presenting good home cooked food. This was very welcome.
The last time we visited was two years ago, it was incredibly pleasing to see how much progress the pub has made since then. It is abundantly clear that the pub is now managed with great expertise and passion for promoting excellence.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

 
Puddletown, Dorchester
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing