We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service,equally excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Frampton Arms

The Frampton Arms
Ranked #49 of 123 Restaurants in Dorchester
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service,equally excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A last minute decision to eat out whilst on holiday,so just called in on the off chance, my daughter and I were made most welcome,we were seated in the conservatory,and were not disappointed with our huge Dorset ham salad and fresh chunky chips! Very good value for money and lovely staff. We have called in for a drink on a previous holiday but never eaten before,we will definately return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Decided to stop off for lunch and was not dissapointed

fantastic all round ..

worth a try if you are stuck for somewhere to go . Best place been too so far on our trip from Manchester

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, real food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed at campsite next door , so had to visit . It had a homely feel with attentive staff, it was Friday so had to try the fish and chips. More a shark than cod, huge portions and very fresh. Washed down with local ale excellent

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gatekeeper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A friendly pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was a spur of the moment visit last week as we were looking for somewhere to have lunch we could reach as many roads in the area were flooded.
The staff were very friendly. There were two or three areas to sit. We chose the conservatory where a waitress came and took our food and drink order. The glass of merlot I ordered was very acceptable.
Our food came fairly quickly. My trout was well cooked and tasty and I appreciated the extra plate I was given for the bones. I wasn't quite so keen on the new potatoes as they didn't taste either particularly new or freshly cooked. Maybe they had been kept standing in hot water for a while? . My husband ordered gammon which he enjoyed and also the large chips which were crisp on the outside and fluffy in the middle.
The pub is on a main but not hugely busy road and right next to the railway crossing and station. It certainly isn't a scenic setting but is very convenient for travellers and has a pleasant ambiance inside.
We would be happy to return when in the area again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up For Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Went to the Frampton Arms for lunch on Sunday 12 January 2014 and was throughly delighted with the service and standard of food. The experience provided good value for money and we will certainly return.
We sat in the conservatory which was spacious and comfortable. The food was straight forward but 'well done', with sensible portion sizes.
This is the second time that we have been to this location and both experiences have been first class.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Frampton Arms also viewed

Iwerne Minster, Blandford Forum
 

Been to The Frampton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing