We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous local produced food”
Review of Napper's Mite - CLOSED

Napper's Mite
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fabulous local produced food”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Whilst trying to find somehwere to eat we asked a lady in another cafe if she could recommend a cafe for us . She told us to try here . Delighted that she did .
The cafe is housed in a historic almhouse. As made form local stone on a very hot day , which it was when we visited , it was lovely and cool inside.
My wife , son and I had standard simple English food ( fish and chips, salad, ham egg and chips ).
Best ham and chips we have ever tasted anywhere. So good that for the rest of the holiday everyother restaurant we ate at we compared to this one and they were not as good.
Very reasonanly priced.
I will not eat anywhere else in Dorchester.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    44
    27
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Historic almshouse”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It was a perfect place to stop for lunch. The food was fine, nothing special, but the atmosphere was pleasant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane52261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

When we first sat down in the modest courtyard we were concerned at what seemed an expensive menu. We were later to discover the prices were in proportion to the size of meal you got. I had a jacket potato with salad and coleslaw the boss had a bacon and brie panini. Both were filling and pleasantly satisfying. While the cover for the courtyard is a somewhat drab bit of grey material strung across scaffolding poles the bar area and other eating area are pleasant affairs. A nice find.

Helpful?
Thank jnigelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Happy waitress and staff ,good value meals ,the courtyard is lovely and covered with the a tent . It was too cold to sit out for us , but would be lovely on a warm day . My only reservation was the pint of bitter was a half inch short . Being a Southerner I prefer beer to Head of froth !! Not really a problem as I was driving anyway !.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you feel hungry and want to spend fifteen minutes sitting at a table being totally ignored, then this is the place for you. We sat here for fifteen minutes as at least three staff walked past (one young chap three times) not one offered us a menu. We had to ask another table if we could look at theirs.After reaching our decision on what to eat, we waited and waited and waited still being ignored. So obviously this establishment don't need custom and can pick and chose who and when they serve. We gave up went elsewhere and thoroughly enjoyed our experience, realising we were not invisible after all!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inspector1Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Napper's Mite also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing