We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst coffee ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napper's Mite - CLOSED

Napper's Mite
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worst coffee ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Worst coffee, worst cappaucino ever. Very interesting place to eat, nice atmosphere. Not impressed with the service, when I did complain about the coffee the gentleman was shocked!!! He replied had I caught his attention right soon after my tasting he would have replaced it! When I repeated that the coffee was weak, watery, tasteless, over milked and tasted burnt still didn't get it! Well u win some and your loose some. The sandwich was not to impressive either. Should I return I would risk ordering tea or stick to water!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    44
    27
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous local produced food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Whilst trying to find somehwere to eat we asked a lady in another cafe if she could recommend a cafe for us . She told us to try here . Delighted that she did .
The cafe is housed in a historic almhouse. As made form local stone on a very hot day , which it was when we visited , it was lovely and cool inside.
My wife , son and I had standard simple English food ( fish and chips, salad, ham egg and chips ).
Best ham and chips we have ever tasted anywhere. So good that for the rest of the holiday everyother restaurant we ate at we compared to this one and they were not as good.
Very reasonanly priced.
I will not eat anywhere else in Dorchester.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Historic almshouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

It was a perfect place to stop for lunch. The food was fine, nothing special, but the atmosphere was pleasant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane52261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

When we first sat down in the modest courtyard we were concerned at what seemed an expensive menu. We were later to discover the prices were in proportion to the size of meal you got. I had a jacket potato with salad and coleslaw the boss had a bacon and brie panini. Both were filling and pleasantly satisfying. While the cover for the courtyard is a somewhat drab bit of grey material strung across scaffolding poles the bar area and other eating area are pleasant affairs. A nice find.

Helpful?
Thank jnigelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Happy waitress and staff ,good value meals ,the courtyard is lovely and covered with the a tent . It was too cold to sit out for us , but would be lovely on a warm day . My only reservation was the pint of bitter was a half inch short . Being a Southerner I prefer beer to Head of froth !! Not really a problem as I was driving anyway !.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Napper's Mite also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 
Dorchester, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing