We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb and a truly beautiful home.”
Review of Little Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Court
Ranked #3 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

It has been by pure chance that we found this wonderful hotel in an area we know but have never stayed before. It was a family occasion nearby that caused us to book for only one night but we were delighted with this simply beautiful country house built in 1909 in the Arts & Crafts style and it is a privilege to stay in such a place. I admit that such high quality building construction and it's design is a particular interest of mine .

However..this review is about hotels and this one is stunningly clean, beautifully run, first class service and a fine breakfast in a dining room over looking the gardens. It is quiet, peaceful and rather special. What it means is that we have found somewhere different to stay when we next explore the Jurassic Coast..or just when we want to experience another stay in this most excellent home.

Highly recommended..just turn up in a fine 1935 Rolls Royce Phantom II Coupe or just a 1937 Riley Blue Streak Kestrel to REALLY look the part!

Room Tip: I only saw one room but would say that every one must be fairly special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoratioQBirdbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked Little Court for a family two night visit to attend the Olympics, having become frustrated with the lack of available and reasonably priced accommodation in Weymouth....and how glad we were that we did!

The hotel and gardens are absolutely beautiful, and ideally located for access to the surrounding area, but far enough away from the madding crowd.

Keith and Amanda provide a very well organised service, with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, excellent breakfast and efficient service.

Highly recommended, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

we were able to relax at Little Court B&B for 2 nights. They call it a B&B but for us it was much more than that. A great room, comfortable bed/s, and excellent en suite.

Breakfast was excellent with a good selection on offer and freshly cooked, if that was what you wanted.

Our hosts and staff were excellent and the surroundings elegant and understated.

The B&B is ideally situated to visit the many attractions in the area, our only disappointment was that we didn't have enough time....and who is that down to....would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is by far the poshest hotel at which I have ever stayed. It doesn't really deserve to be labelled a 'hotel', with all the negative connotations related to that category. It is a cosy little country paradise, tucked away at the edge of a quaint village just outside of Dorchester and boasting all of the fairytale sparkles that you'd therefore expect.

The owners are very friendly. The lady - the name of whom I've regretfully forgotten - was especially courteous; she seemed genuinely interested in us as people and made an admirable effort to ensure that our two-night stay was as comfortable as posible. She provided comprehensive information about the premises and the local area, including providing verbal and written recommendations about places to eat and drink. It was very welcome to be provided with a guided tour to and of our room.

The room was incredibly homely; the beds were very comfortable; the bathroom was very clean - perfect. The view from our room through the gorgeous cottage windows was stunning - rolling fields - and was totally black (and silent!) at night. The TV was a little awkwardly positioned - there were no chairs near and it couldn't be seen properly from the double bed - but we didn't watch much television anyway.

Breakfast was fantastic. It is rare, in my experience, for a hotel to offer a full vegetarian breakfast, but Little Court do and it is very nice, including Linda McCartney sausages. My boyfrend assures me the full English breakfast was likewise awesome. The selection of fancy jams with the toast was also much appreciated! A continental breakfast table is also provided, featuring various cereals and fruit including juicy strawberries.

The grounds around the hotel are lovely. The gardens are well maintained and there are even a little woods in which to venture. The tennis court was of a very high quality, though we used our own bats and balls rather than those provided so can't comment on them, and the trampoline was plenty bouncy. Unfortunately, while we had been excited about using the outdoor pool before arriving, it actually only had rather narrow opening hours and in fact wasn't even open during those while we were there. We did feel the water beneath the pool cover and it was very cold to the touch.

The lounge area in the foyer is lovely. Whenever we had time to sit and have a delicious sherry we were the only ones - others seemed to go there earlier in the evening compared to us - but it was nevertheless an enjoyable place to be, complete with newspapers, board games and playing cards.

We were by far the youngest in the hotel - our combined age is forty-seven and that is still probably a decade younger than the youngest-looking person we met while there (except for the owners). That needn't be a reason not to stay here if you are younger, though. In fact, it certainly contributed a lot to Little Court's overall classy feel.

Little Court totally warrants its price. It undoubtedly deserves its five-star rating. I look forward to visiting again next year, if not sooner! :D

Room Tip: A rear-view room will be much more fulfilling that a front-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My wife and I decided to head down to Dorset at short notice and found Little Court - a gorgeous house with wobbly glass leaded windows and a beautifully kept Victorian walled garden.

Our host Amanda was very welcoming - we had a lovely room overlooking the gardens. Everything appeared well looked after and I couldn't quite believe it was £109 incl. breakfast for two.....

We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S60_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is a belated review as my husband and myself stayed at Little Court last year. It was the 3rd time we had spent a long weekend there over years and each time we have been warmly welcomed. The rooms are quaint and comfortable, the downstairs lounge is a welcome seating area to read the newspapers supplied with a complimentary sherry. The breakfasts are fantastic, the produce used is first class. Although evening meals are not available The Sun public house just down the road serves excellent food.
Would definately recommend this B&B to anybody and look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol9159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Only stayed one night on business trip, but an excellent place to stay, very friendly welcome, immaculate and well equipped room, very stylish decor. Excellent service and I have certainly paid much more for much less in other places in the past. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dorchester Premier Inn
Dorchester Premier Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
293 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Poundbury
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Court

Address: Little Court Charminster, Dorchester DT2 9EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range: £68 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Little Court 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Little Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Court Hotel Dorchester
Little Court Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing