We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of Little Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Little Court
Ranked #5 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights. Really enjoyed the house. Our twin room was comfortable - not huge, and could have used a little more wardrobe space but minor niggles. Breakfast is excellent and the staff are non-intrusive but really helpful if you need it - lending us champagne glasses for a bottle we wanted to drink in our room and recommending places to eat. If you want somewhere special ask for a recommendation before you arrive so you can book in advance. The pub down the road is fine though nothing special. Otherwise we ate in Dorchester - you can walk in and back but you might want to borrow one of their torches. We quite liked the walk but if not they will call you a cab which is about a fiver.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Caitkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
87
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

Little Court is beautiful... Once inside the gates you enter a quaint, peaceful idyllic world! Stayed in the four poster room on a sunny Sunday evening which was wonderful. Walked to the local pub for dinner which was nice enough. The area around Little Court has a few disappointing modern housing estates but the hotel and grounds are lovely, very traditional, very english.. Breakfast was cooked to order so was fresh and enjoyable. Owner is lovely, nothing is too much trouble. A great night, sad to leave...

  • Liked — The grounds, the house, the room.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireLadyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2007

We stayed here for a weekend in March & thought it was lovely. It had a very cosy atmosphere, & we were made to feel most welcome by the owners.
Our room was very comfortable & spacious, with a nice bathroom. The house is full of charecter, with a big garden with tennis courts, if you are feeling energetic. The breakfasts were delicious. I can't recommend it highly enough.
We enjoyed exploring the surrounding areas, & had some nice walks.
Eating tip - the pub down the road is ok, but walk a bit further into town & visit "The Red Pepper" Restaurant in the main street. The food was delicious, & the staff very friendly & welcoming.

  • Liked — Lovely old house
  • Disliked — Nothing !
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItchyfeetOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

We have just returned from a weekend staying at the Little Court and it was absolutely beautiful.
We had the four poster bedroom, which was very spacious with a great widescreen t.v. The room was very comfortable with plenty of wardrobe space and even an ironing board and iron.It was well worth paying the extra for this room. Everything was spotlessly clean and again the bathroom was clean and spacious.
The breakfast was cooked to perfection with plenty of choice, and very friendly staff to serve us.No evening meals but there is a really nice pub a few minutes away that serve meals at a reasonable price and Dorchester itself is only a mile away.
We will definitely be coming back to this B&B again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Liked — The spacious room
Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WAA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2007

This B&B deserves every one of its 5 stars that it has. From the warm and personal welcome to the small personal touches it was a pleasure to stay there. We had the large, very bright and airy four poster room which was wonderful. The local pub had a 'hog roast' and a live band outdoors and was only 5 minutes walk. There is a pool and tennis court but we didnt get time to experience either of those. The breakfast was cooked fresh to order and all the staff we met were friendy. I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ParkBenchUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2007

This is a lovely little hotel/guest house. The owner is really friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are very good. My room was spacious with a nice en suite bathroom. The room looked like it had been newly renovated. The flat screen TV is huge. The lighting is a bit dim though, so if you like bright lighting this might not be the place for you! There are tennis courts in the garden if you fancy a game.....

  • Liked — The breakfast and TV
  • Disliked — Lighting
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2007

The house is set in lovely countryside, and is cosy and charming. The breakfast was good, and our room was spacious and elegant with both the biggest TV and the largest en suite bathroom we have ever experienced at a B&B. Town was a short, pleasant walk from the house and the pub nearby served fantastic food with a smile.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N&M-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
1.0 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
10.2 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Court

Property: Little Court
Address: Little Court Charminster, Dorchester DT2 9EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Little Court 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Little Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Court Hotel Dorchester
Little Court Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing