We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect.....”
Review of Little Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Court
Ranked #3 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My stay at Little Court was a lovely birthday treat. We arrived just as the owners were going out for the night and was welcomed by the owners husband, unfortunately despite staying for two days and seeing the owner in the breakfast room each morning I never had a conversation with her personally.

I got to stay in the four poster suite and the room looked stunning upon arrival, if slightly dated in style. The only disappointment for a large room of this standing was the main ceiling light which looked like it has come out of a bathroom and needed taking down and cleaning out as it was dusty.

Our first night was very cold but we found a heater in one of the wardrobes on the second day which meant the room was much more comfortable and welcoming from then on in. We also faced a road which meant we were woken by road noise during the night.

The room was very clean and had thoughtful touches like water and umbrellas. The bed was very comfortable and I had an excellent nights sleep. We didn't use the guest lounge but daily newspapers and free sherry were available.

The breakfast was generally very good, with gluten free bread available. The only disappointment is that the vegetarian breakfast doesn't come with eggs (which makes a vegan breakfast) and when I asked for eggs on the first morning I still didn't get any. The waitress seemed to struggle with making changes to the menu. The food provided was generally of good quality but there were some small changes such as local honey rather than catering portions which I would have expected for the room price.

There is a swimming pool and tennis court available for use and ample parking.

All in all not bad but some small touches would make it perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredaAtTheHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Little Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

A pleasant guest house.
Good breakfasts.
Our room was a touch on the small side, but the en-suite facility was compensating lay spacious.
Good gardens with the added bonus of an outdoor(heated) swimming pool and a tennis court.
Located a little way out of Charminster and also within a comfortable walking distance of Dorchester main street( less than 1 mile).

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear which was fairly quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pambill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked 3 rooms; 1 twin, 1 double and 1 four poster room. On arrival Amanda was extremely helpful & friendly, giving information on where we could eat etc.
On taking us to our rooms Amanda was very thoughful and moved my son to a double room, so he was in the same part of the building as ourselves.
The rooms were all lovely, especially the four poster one and I would definitely recommend paying the extra to have that room.
Breakfast was great, a good selection of both hot and cold choices.
We will most definitely go back and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this very elegant B&B - A lovely welcome from Keith and Amanda, a spacious cean and very comfortable room, freshly cooked breakfasts, stunning gardens complete with tennis courts/swimming pool, such a lovely time we had here, many thanks to you both.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenm774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I've stayed at little court a few times and each time it has not failed to impress! The hotel is in a lovely location with a nice pub down the road and Dorchester is within walking distance. The rooms are always clean and fairly big. In the summer, the pool is open which is great and a good way to cool down! Breakfast is traditional English with a continental if you'd prefer. Overall, little court is a lovely hotel and I will definatly be back for my 4th stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmyrobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed one night whilst returning from a West Country tour. How we wish it could have been more. This is a lovely, if somewhat rambling, house, situated on the edge of Charminster with wonderful views. Spotlessly clean and comfortable, with a real bath and a shower( heaven) and a breakfast of real quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daithelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Have stayed here numerous times over many years whilst working in the SW. Rooms are excellent and I suspect I have stayed in most of them! . Breakfast first class every time with friendly service. Always made to feel welcome by Amanda. Gardens are lovely in the summer. Would recommend little court and have done to colleagues.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
1.1 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
2.4 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Court

Address: Little Court Charminster, Dorchester DT2 9EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range: £88 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Little Court 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Little Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Court Hotel Dorchester
Little Court Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing