We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Little Court
Nearby Hotels
The Casterbridge(Dorchester)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Greyhound Inn(Dorchester)
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Junction Hotel(Dorchester)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Riviera Hotel(Weymouth)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Smuggler's Inn(Osmington Mills)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
137
22
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
22
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun innfour posterswimming poolwalled gardenattractive groundstennis racketsstyle housebeautiful housethe pubon arrivalstayed one nightlocal producecooked to ordercooked optionslovely placelittle gempot of tea
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed for the August Bank holiday weekend.
Amanda was the perfect hostess, providing me with maps to the post office to pick up a parcel and advice on local restaurants (The Weld Arms in Wareham excellent food huge portions and superb friendly staff and Enzo in Weymouth superb Italian excellent food and service but you must pre-book and of course the sun inn down the road with a great roast).

We had a huge room large comfy bed, plasma tv, table and chairs, tea pot , kettle, biscuits with view of the gardens and tennis court and large ensuite more akin to luxury hotel.

Breakfast is excellent and cooked to order by attentive staff and jugs of fresh juice and fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereals.

internet, comfy lounge with daily newspapers and free decanter of sherry.

The perfect setting with lovely gardens, swimming pool, large trampoline and sheep in the field at the back.

Amanda and staff are excellent and on hand to help. The perfect base to explore Dorset and 1 mile from Dorchester.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elektro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

I stayed at Little Court last September on a three night break with my elderly father. I chose Little Court from the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and also for the location for touring Thomas Hardy country. On arrival the owner (who lives in the house) welcomed us warmly and took us to our rooms. Both rooms were nicely furnished, very clean, and had spacious well equipped bathrooms. There was a pleasant guest lounge with a selection of quality newspapers and magazines, fireplace and computer with free internet access. There was also complementary sherry for guests to help themselves to. The front door opened directly into the lounge and during our stay the fire was not lit at all, making it quite a chilly almost unwelcoming room to sit in. A fire in the impressive fireplace would have made such a difference! The bedrooms were also quite chilly. I was ok with this but my father is elderly and used to being warm. I realise it is an old house and therefore expensive to heat, but by mid-Sept it is getting quite cold in the evenings. The breakfasts could not be faulted and were served in a pleasant dining room by very pleasant staff. One of the ladies worked for the local tourist information office so was very helpful in suggesting places we might like to visit. The grounds of the hotel were ideal for a stroll to work off the breakfast, and the location, whilst a little difficult to find initially proved ideal for exploring the area. We ate at the pub down the road on two occasions (recommended by the hotel) and the food was very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our break, helped by some lovely autumn sunshine. Dorchester is a lovely little town and Dorset a magical county. I would certainly say try Little Court if you like somewhere quiet and a little different, maybe we were unlucky with the chilliness and you will have a warm stay!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripAdviserreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We had room number 1 and thought it was lovely. It was spacious, very clean, and several little extra touches that made it quite nice. We were also happy the hotel had wifi. We had a nice full English breakfast along with your choice of cereals, yoguart, and fruits. Interestingly when I read the previous reviews, I wondered how someone could comment on the breakfast marmalade but after trying it ......i know why. This was the only bad thing I can comment on about our stay so obviously if that's all I can complain about I would certainly recommend to Little Court to anyone else. The large parking area was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Had known of this B/B establishment for some years and had been very much looking forward to staying there, but what a disappointment.
The only room available was the 4 poster, which was large, dark and cold; were told there was a heater in wardrobe, but not so and we awoke chilled.
The top sheet had a large hole, which must have been apparent to whoever made up the bed; bed linen was not good quality and far from the luxurious effect we had been anticipating.
Breakfast, we had been promised, would be "outstanding". Not so; the dried apricots were completely inedible, bacon so salty had to leave it, toast made from cheapest possible bread and accompanied by JELLY marmalade!
So, went away both cold and hungry and glad of only one thing; we paid £50 each, rather than the normal price of £60.
Altogether VERY poor value and far from the luxury advertised.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suecoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Little Court is an attractive, clean and well furnished house in Charminster near Dorchester.

If it hadn't been for the extremely noisy central heating motor running late at night over our room we would have enjoyed our stay. On our first night the motor started getting noisy at about 10pm and got worse by the minute until it suddenly stopped at 1am. Needless to say it was only from that point on that we could sleep. I mentioned this to the female proprietor next day and she apologised and said she was having it all replaced as soon as the season was over. We begged for the motor not to be running the next night and were told it would be switching off at 11.30pm which it did.

Do not stay in room 3 (twin bedded) until the motor is replaced!!!!!

Stayed: October 2008
Thank BrixhamJeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews