We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific”

Number 35 Coffee House & Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Dorchester is so lucky to have coffee of this quality. It's worth the walk up to the top of High West Street to find it, who needs Starbucks (glad they've gone from Dorch) when this place is so good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    17
    4
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST COFFEE IN DORCHESTER!”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Forget the coffee chains, come here for the real thing - fabulous coffees, wonderful cakes and superb sandwiches. Not a huge selection but no matter, they're all baked on the premises and very reasonable prices, too reasonable I'd say. Best coffee in Dorchester? Yep. Best coffee in Dorset? Probably.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calebranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing coffee (and the cake's pretty good too!)”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

A very welcoming and comfortable environment, enagaging host and superb coffee. So good to have a choice and Toby really knows his coffees. Excellent value, very well presented. And the cake - it's amazing. Overall, the best coffee shop I have ever been in. Thank you Toby.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enjoylife451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coffee Paradise...”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

As soon as I saw the board inside the shop explaining the coffees I knew I would have to try them. There's no shortage of coffee shops in towns these days but there's a world of difference between the indifferent and excellent. I was very fortunate to have walked past that day as Number 35 really delivers. The coffees are lovingly prepared by somebody who really knows what he's doing.
As well as serving some of the best quality beans available, the sandwiches and cakes are also something special.
A quick look through the London Coffee Guide will show how highly prized the best independent coffee shops are. I think Dorchester is fortunate to now have its own top quality independent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARWDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Coffee and cake lovers' paradise”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

If, like me, you enjoy a good moist cake or succulent flapjack, you will love Toby's freshly made, exquisite taste bombs! I rarely find a cake that lives up to its good looks in a coffee shop, but here at No.35 I am spoilt for choice. Will it be the perfectly textured lemon drizzle, the chocolate and beetroot sandwich cake, a raspberry and almond cup cake or something new and unexpected? I'm not going to tell you about the apple and vanilla cake with mascarpone cream on top, because I want that all to myself! Then there's the coffee... as other reviewers have mentioned, the same goes really; don't you often find the smell of a coffee house to be more rewarding than the actual product? Not at No.35, you will be treated to a choice of carefully selected beans, expertly made into the perfect cup every time - none of that burnt tasting, tongue scorching, overpriced rubbish from the big chains! If you find yourself out with a tea lover, don't worry, that's covered too with speciality brews to choose from. If you fancy a light lunch, Toby's home-made bread sandwiches look marvellous, but be warned, go early, he sells out every day! It's not surprising really, this is possibly the only place where best food meets best value. Indeed if you were to combine morning coffee here with a matinee at Dorchester's lovely Plaza Cinema, your pocket would think you had travelled back in time by 10 years! In short, this is a coffee house that would be equally at home in London or Seattle, but with it's friendly welcome, quirky interior design and daily changes to a mouth-watering menu, we are both proud and privileged to have No.35 here at the heart of Hardy Country in Dorchester. Parking is a minute or two's stroll away at the Top O' Town car park, but remember to go early before us locals have snaffled all the cake!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helsbiggerpicture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Number 35 Coffee House & Kitchen also viewed

Dorchester, Dorset
 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to Number 35 Coffee House & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing