We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising little gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 35 Coffee House & Kitchen

Number 35 Coffee House & Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bristol
Level Contributor
164 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Surprising little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We found this place on trip advisor on a day out in Dorset and this made our day. Range of coffee beans, methods of caffeination and expertise was excellent including a aero press, tho no herbal tea but a lovely loose leaf English breakfast in bone china. One choice of sandwich - cheddar cheese, salad and beetroot chutney on granary , two of tarts - goats cheese or pastrami, one stew - beef, five baked goods.

Helpful?
Thank CSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    17
    4
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
129 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best coffee and great cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I keep coming back for the best coffee in town, freshly prepared by an award winning barista!

Note: Costa do not employ baristas, they employ people to mix things and make a brown coffee flavoured liquid they call coffee...

At number 35 it's an entirely different matter, which I can only suggest you realise by sampling the various blends on offer... I have since started to enjoy a cheeky slice of cake, from traditional brownies to more contemporary offerings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lordjimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it =) Can't recommend enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Such a quirky, non pretentious cosy place.Toby & Steven are so welcoming.
Toby is a master barista, & also bakes delicious cakes.
I just wish work didn't get in the way of me having coffee & cake as I would happily go there everyday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorchvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Had a great coffee experience here, owner happy to share his knowledge in guiding me to a great coffee. Nice place to relax too!

Helpful?
Thank Bennobw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“(nearly) all-round wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

For those of us who are non coffee-drinking heathens No 35 is one of the few places that stocks Assam.

It would be completely wonderful instead of just nearly if I could just get ordinary cake to go with my tea. Again, I'm a heathen and can't be doing with cakes made of such things as courgette or parsnip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhoopsthereIgoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Number 35 Coffee House & Kitchen also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to Number 35 Coffee House & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing