We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RUDE!”
Review of The Loft

The Loft
Ranked #25 of 126 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“RUDE!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Was on my lunch break with partner and parents and decided to head to the loft for a coffee and light bite/cake. Was told by the polite young lady there was room for 4 of us but we would have to share a table with another couple. We agreed. We started to look at the cakes and food, when (I presume the owner) rudely interrupted and asked us to leave if we were only having drinks. Considering we were already going to have to share a table we thought this was very rude and there was no apology given. We swiftly let and went to the Pottery which was a LOT more friendly, polite and gorgeous cream tea too! Like others have said I am sympathetic to small businesses but I would never return or recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally D, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Whilst I am sympathetic to you regarding your experience at my cafe, there are some facts which have been misrepresented. However, to put it in context I would like to explain that shortly before you arrived I had had the unpleasant experience of dealing with an incredibly rude and bullying customer (who reviewed shortly before you) and was feeling very upset. Because of that incident, I told all the staff that, since we were having a busy lunch, we would only be taking lunch orders from then on. It was unfortunate that when I came downstairs and found your order had been taken, I was not only upset by the previous incident, but annoyed that my member of staff had taken your order. But I did explain to you that we were only doing lunch, and I did apologise, despite what you have written. But you were clearly annoyed, and walked away without listening to me. It is very difficult having such a small cafe, and we have to manage the space as best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    32
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food ... But ...”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I had arranged to meet my son in Dorchester and arrived at the loft and ordered a drink. He arrived and we both ordered coffee and scrambled eggs. After a while the lady came and asked if we wanted anything else so we had two more drinks and scone. All delicious and no gripes. THEN, we had not finished out drinks when she came again and said that we would have to go as she had people waiting downstairs and for scrabble, she had a business to run and we had already been there since 11.30 and it was now nearly 1.000m. My son said he would order lunch but she wanted us both to eat!!! So we left, not finishing our second drinks. I am sympathetic to small businesses trying to make a living but surely she could have informed us before she asked us if we wanted anything else that it was the lunch time sevice and she needed the tables and the money. We have eaten here on several occasions, we try and support local businesses and it is a good half way point in our journey to meet up. The good is lovely but only go if she want to stop half an hour or risk being moved on!! Thank you Costa for allowing us to fit in your cafe and chat and catch up xxx

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally D, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
I was surprised at the highly edited version of events that you have written. Firstly your son arrived at 10.30, and you at 11 when you ordered your food - which was given to you about 10 minutes later. You then asked if we had WiFi as you had business to take care of - and was clearly annoyed that we did not. When I went back up to you at 11.45, and asked if you wanted anything else, your son ordered a scone. You were both sitting at our best table - a table for 4 in the window, and it was covered in papers and a laptop. At 12.15 I went back up as we were beginning to get busy with lunch, and you both ordered an apple juice. When I returned at 12.40 your juices were largely untouched, and I asked if you could move to the bar stools as I needed the table for 4 people downstairs. You were both incredibly rude, and your son said that he would order lunch - which he was clearly only doing to stay at the table. I said that that was fine, but I would still need you to move as I needed the table for 4 people, at which point you both were incredibly offensive, to the point that other people in the room (after your departure) offered me their sympathy and said I had been completely in the right. We are a small business, and whilst Costa has the space to offer business facilities to customers for hours over a single cup of coffee, I do not. You enjoyed your food and drink at considerable leisure by anyone's standards - the cafe is for people to socialise in, not to conduct business meetings at their own convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“lovely coffee break”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Quick pop in, coffee and cake exceptional, excellent service, will be returning. Decor nice, quiet on my first visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacks772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shining star of Dorchester's cafes”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

I endeavour to visit The Loft whenever I'm in Dorchester as it encapsulates everything great about independant cafe culture.

Contrary to the review below me, the two charming ladies who welcome you have been nothing but professional, diligent, and above all always smiling and on the ball!

The food here is always beautifully presented and is without a doubt in my mind the best lunch to be had in Dorchester.

Keep up the good work, ladies.

You run a stellar cafe which sets a high standard for any other local business to aspire to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck-Single
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What's so difficult about providing two coffees?”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Did we choose the wrong day? If so, perhaps the dysfunctional couple of harrassed looking ladies who were running this place on the day we arrived could let customers know when to visit in order to receive good service. We'd put an hour of parking in the meter. We went straight to the Loft and ordered a de-caff Americano and a Latte. This is not a complicated order. Genuinely concerned about getting a parking ticket after 10 then 20 then 40 minutes wait - and we weren't the only ones - one of the ladies took a break from harrumphing behind the counter and slamming metal trays around and thumped two coffees down in front of us. Unfortunately they were for other customers who'd arrived about five minutes earlier. We were sitting in full view of the staff. It was, actually, quite funny in a Sybil Fawlty type way. Next time we'll put three hours in the meter to give them a fighting chance. Oh, a tip: it's not nice for customers to view a load of toilet rolls, bleach and cleaning stuff that's been dumped near the stairs. Doesn't add value to the 'experience'. A very amateur operation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Denimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally D, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
I find it very difficult to believe that you would sit and wait 40 minutes for a cup of coffee. If I had been waiting more than 10 minutes, I would ask a member of staff about it. I do not believe what you have written - whilst we might be busy and harrumping about, we would no longer be in business if we really did run such a shoddy service. I will admit that at times mistakes are made - we are very human - and sometimes orders are lost. But we are not not incompetent and I would suggest that you are the most incredibly patient beings in the world if you sat there for 40 minutes without saying a word. Good for you. In such an impatient world, it is nice to think that, despite a ticking parking meter, you have such patience. And just to put your fears to rest, we do not store our loo rolls etc, on the stairs. We do have a cupboard for them. But between them being delivered (during working hours), and us having a minute to put them away, they have to rest somewhere. Actually, since you had such a long time to wait for your coffee, you could have done that for us......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Loft also viewed

 

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing