We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger I've ever had.”
Review of Cafe Paninis

Cafe Paninis
Ranked #5 of 126 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Cuisines: Cafe, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A bright and attractive contemporary cafe offering fast and friendly service and a large range of meals and snacks made using fresh ingredients - all served with flair. Family friendly with a healthy and interesting children's menu, and choices for special diets and requirements. Pre-orders and takeaway service available, and private parties catered for by arrangement. Open 7 days a week.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best burger I've ever had.”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I visited today and had a burger with bacon and blue cheese (it was a special) it came with a beautiful salad and excellent chips.
It was THE best burger I've eaten. Everything was fantastic only lost one point on service due to having the thought "where was my food?" It was worth the wait mind you! Excellent value for money and will most definitely be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KellHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Owner at Cafe Paninis, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we're really glad that you enjoyed your burger. in addition to the burgers listed on our menu, we have a daily special burger which changes all the time. We hope that you will return again to try another variety soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    42
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Visited with a friend for lunch on a very busy Saturday. Staff are very friendly and despite being very busy, took our order quickly. It was explained that they were having problems with power cuts so there may be a delay in getting our food. We decided to wait and were very pleased we did. There was only a small delay and when the food arrived it was plentiful and delicious. My pot of tea was enormous and my friend said her smoothie was delicious. She got a full glass plus a small jug full that wouldn't fit in the glass! The only slight criticism was that our table had been cleared but not wiped. It wasn't really dirty, just a few crumbs but it would have been nice if it had been wiped. I could have asked, but I didn't so not really complaining. We will go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Waymans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Owner at Cafe Paninis, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit, and pleased that our temporary drama of having no power to our kitchen due to a faulty breaker did not result in a long delay. Thankfully our breaker has been replaced and we are now firing on all cylinders! As you can imaging it was a trying time for the staff who had to spend time diagnosing the fault instead of being 100% focused on table service. We appreciate your understanding and patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Very delicious food!”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Fantastic tasty fresh food. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Excellent menu choice. Spotlessly clean! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin_barrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Owner at Cafe Paninis, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your review, very much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really great find!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Came to Dorchester for the day and after having an average coffee elsewhere in the town, we found Cafe Panini by the new development. We were given a lovely warm welcome and picked a window seat to watch passers by. The place was busy, but was very clean (even the loos were spotless), and our order was taken quickly. We ordered a steak sandwich with fries and a tagliatele with beef ragu sauce, both meals arrived quickly and we were very impressed with the appearance. The pasta was clearly homemade and piping hot with a delicious rich sauce and lots of shavings of parmesan on the top, the steak sandwich was the best I've ever had - toasted bloomer with warm sweet roasted onions, a delicious horseradish relish - sweet and hot, then a generous whole steak which was expertly cooked and a thick layer of fresh watercress. The sandwich was served on a wooden board with gherkins and a large bowl of moreish fries. We had a bottle of merlot with our meals and it was very good indeed and only cost £11.50. We finished the meal with two double espresso coffees having declined the offer of pudding due to being very full and satisfied. We are both coffee snobs and found the espresso to be really excellent and the perfect end to a great lunch. We will certainly be back very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeanaA903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Owner at Cafe Paninis, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post your review. Your comments are much appreciated and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and our cafe so much. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely party venue”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just had a very, very belated Christmas party at Cafe Paninis we were made very welcome by the propietors, the food was delicious and very reasonably priced. Nothing was too much trouble and we will definitely be going again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Owner at Cafe Paninis, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
We're pleased that you enjoyed your belated Xmas meal. We certainly enjoyed the evening, including the party entertainment. Thank you for all the lovely comments and praise, and we look forward to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Paninis also viewed

Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to Cafe Paninis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing