We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with long wait, poor quality food and the wrong bill!”
Review of Cafe Jagos

Cafe Jagos
Ranked #102 of 138 Restaurants in Dorchester
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pop into our newly revitalised daytime cafe serving the best freshly cooked food by our award winning chef. Come and enjoy our range of cakes, muffins and brownies accompanied by a cup of fair trade tea or coffee.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We visited on a Saturday lunchtime, after the 'rush'. We ordered and were told it would be a 15 minute wait. We only ordered sandwiches! The fruit juice we had was a cheap Londis own brand.
We had to wait 30 minutes for our order to be brought to us. There were only 4 other tables being used at the time. I said I was disappointed to the waitress and she smiled!
The bread was very chewy and the filling mediocre quality (old salad and tough chicken).
When we went to pay, the waitress overcharged us by £4, we worked this out quickly and asked for the money back, but as she didn't know how to open the till without a bill, she had to go and ask the chef/owner for instructions, this took another 5 minutes!!
All in all we are very disappointed and sadly would not recommend this cafe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HilaryAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I went into the gents before trying to order food today at this cafe. No sinks in the gents toilets. The staff are too young

3  Thank JCM2731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Cafe Jagos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time raise the issue regarding the toilet at café jagos .. Im pleased to let you know it has been fully refurbished to a high standard and the next time your in Dorchester your very welcome to come in and inspect again before you catch you bus.. and problems please contact me on 01305 266056 at any time we apologise once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is the second time our office have chosen Cafe Jagos for our Christmas doo, and it def ticked all our boxes! Great food, friendly hospitality along with a singing Santa! Excellent time had by all.

Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafejagos, Manager at Cafe Jagos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. We're glad you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Popped in on a busy Saturday for a light lunch. Girls were happy friendly and gave excellent service and the food was well priced fresh and tasty. Lovely atmosphere in Jagos and I think it is popular with locals and Can understand why. Great value and very comfortable indeed.

Thank MadelaineChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafejagos, Manager at Cafe Jagos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your review we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Nice food, friendly staff, lots of entertainment. Overall, a great atmosphere - and at a reasonable price.

We all thoroughly enjoyed the evening and left feeling suitably Christmassy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie P, Manager at Cafe Jagos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for the review we are really glad you enjoyed your Christmas party with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Jagos also viewed

Dorchester, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to Cafe Jagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing