We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Gamekeeper - New for 2013 in Charminster”

The Gamekeeper Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 123 Restaurants in Dorchester
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family run pub/ restaurant in the heart of Charminster, two mile South of The County Town of Dorset. Large garden leading down to the River Cerne. We cater for Wedding or functions of any kind. We have very comfortable, clean bed and breakfasts available. Fantastic Sunday Lunch Carvery still at the great price of £9.95 per person. Large Car park. Corporate Functions catered for. Outside catering available.
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The Gamekeeper - New for 2013 in Charminster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Visited here April 2013 on the basis of a recommendation and we were not disappointed.
Just 15 minutes west of Dorchester, this was a first time visit for Dinner for us, though my folks had been here for lunch previously.
Decor is smart and fresh after being refurbished early 2013 (I think).
There is a bar menu and also a dinner menu. We went for the latter and were suitably impressed by the quality.
The restaurant overlooks a quiet garden area which leads down to a stream. Itis light and airy and would be excellent on a warm, Summer evening.
Service is good with a small number of efficient and friendly staff. Between the four of us we had duck, lamb and a vegetarian dish. All very nice, surprisingly filling and very well presented.
We were suitably full to only need two desserts between four of us.
Well worth a trip to Charminster and worth pre-booking because this place will only get busier in my view.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    28
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If ikea did Indian themed restaurants”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Yet bizarrely called the gamekeeper serving rural cuisine. Food is good and well presented if lacking base flavours. Expectation is not fulfilled but adequate. Same old school boy errors ie spelling mistakes on the menu. Recomend the Sunday luncheon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HospitalityUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james l, Owner at The Gamekeeper Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the spelling error which I shall find and correct. Also can I suggest that you look at your spelling as recommend is spelt with two m's not one!!!

We are always interested in positive and negative feedback but I cannot see the relevance of the Indian theme - racist? I run this business and my husband is Indian - does that mean we cannot run an English restaurant?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

There are lots of good places to eat in the Dorchester/Weymouth area, but few combine exceptional food, really comfortable surroundings and excellent service. The Gamekeeper provides all three, plus good parking, views over the fields and an attractive outside deck area. Our duck and lamb main courses were cooked to perfection with interesting vegetables to match. The puddings were inspired - I had a zingy spiced parfait which came with little toasted marshmallows and toffee sauce. Delicious. I wouldn't say it was cheap, but there is a good value lunch menu and the exceptional bread and oil to start came free. All this makes it the best place to eat locally at the moment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ASMFMF-Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owermoigne Dorset
Level Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Food and Smart Decour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Good food and service everyone enjoyed their meals. Prices a little on the high side and more than we would expect to pay for pub food when comparing with similar establishments.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Excellent celebratory lunch, enjoyed by all participants, and it wasn't particularly expensive. Menu chosen in conjuction with the chef, following a suucessful trial visit a few weeks ago. Excellent food and service, with bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar dips, and cups of home-made soup, provided as surprise extras without charge. A good choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gamekeeper Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Dorchester, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 
Piddletrenthide, Dorchester
 

Been to The Gamekeeper Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing