We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Commemorate a great man”
Review of Hardy's Monument

Hardy's Monument
Ranked #9 of 40 things to do in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Commemorate a great man”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Noit Thomas Hardy the Dorset author and poet, but Thomas Masterman Hardy (Kiss me Hardy fame), the Dorset Captain and,.later, Admiral. Built by the locals to commemorate one of our great naval heroes
Noit as easy to access now as the gate is often shut but well worth a visit and, on a clear day, the views are incredible - 4 counties or so I am told.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    51
    26
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
518 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Hardy's Monument with no car park”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We used to visit Hardy's monument when we lived in Dorset years ago with no problems. Now there is no car park. There was obviously recently a catering van with poorly written and cheap notices around so that has died a death!!! Sadly although the monument is National Trust there is nowhere to park. Surely the NT could buy some of the land belonging to the landlord whom I believe is Andrew Duke. What a shame. Fantastic views from here of Chesil Beach and surrounding countryside. A narrow pretty country lane winds up here from Martinstown and then down to Portesham.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good place for a picnic”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

the view from up here is wonderful it can be a bit blowy as it is exposed but its worth it a good place for children to run round, but there are not toilets through

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting Design?!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The first thing to strike me was the shape of the monument. It is an old brick chimney, whose setting would be more at home in industrial revolution Lancashire than the beautiful Dorset countryside. Nevertheless, very imposing. The second thing to strike me was that I had the wrong Hardy! This is Hardy as in Nelson and "Kismet, Hardy", not as in Tess of the d'Urbervilles. However, if you wish to get Far from the Madding Crowd, this is an excellent place to do it. The views are excellent and the peace only broken by the occasional car on the adjacent lane. When we were there there were hardly any visitors and annoyingly the carpark was closed which did cause a little congestion on the approach lane.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Ingamells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“what a view”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Alot of visitors think this a a thomas hardy monument, but of course its not , it was erected in honor odf admiral Hardy, who lived close by and was with Nelson when he was fataly wounded

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank steveblakesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hardy's Monument also viewed

 

Been to Hardy's Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing