We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel--Same High Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed in Dorchester for 3 nights in May to explore the area including Lyme Regis. The Hotel is in the new Brewery Development right next to the Railway Station of Dorchester South.You come out of the Station and into Reception in 3 minutes or so.The young Lady in Reception was very polite smiled a lot which is so important.The Hotel was perfect for us-excellent room and so quiet at night never heard a thing.Top marks to Premier Inn for there choice of the site.
We are off next to try the Premier Inn at Stratford upon Avon.Will post our opinion in due course.PS did not try the in house restaurant as it seems over priced compared to our friends at Wetherspoons where you can get 2 Breakfeasts for less than the price of 1 at Premier.Perhaps Whitbread should review there prices to encourage more to eat in as Wetherspoons in Dorchester was full of Premier customers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the shiny new, just opened Premier Inn at Dorchester, its n good location in the new Brewery Square development and gives easy access to just about everywhere you could want in the town or the region. Checked in on saturday afternoon, friendly enough, given key-card which also controls the lift. Try to go to our room but the key card won,t let us use the lift. Eventually a member of staff helps out with her card, but not before telling us that several people have had a problem with the lifts. During the course of our stay my key-card was changed 3 times and none of the key-cards worked in the lift, but OK for accessing our hotel room. My wife's card worked in the lift occassionally.

Tea-bags, my wife likes a cup of tea but there were only 2 tea-bags in our room, so after she made a cup of tea on our arrival we had none. That evening she asked for more tea-bags so that she could have a cup of tea before bed and another in the morning. She was only given two tea bags and when she asked for a couple more was told that they are only allowed to give out two at a time, so we asked for more later on that evening. The next day we bought some.

This Premier Inn has its own restaurant, breakfast was OK every morning, but on Sunday evening we tried to eat in the restaurant. We arrived at 7.40pm and it took 15 minutes to be shown to a table. The restaurant was not busy, but ths staff preferred chatting to dealing with customers. At 8.05pm our order was taken which included a shared platter to eat while we waited for our main course. At 8.35pm nothing had arrived, not even the shared platter that we wantd to eat while we were waiting for our main course, we gave up, cancelled our order and walked out.

Toilet paper was also in short supply.

These silly niggles spoil what would have been an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bald-Blokes-R-Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We needed a hotel at very short notice due to a family bereavement and Dorchester hasn't much choice especially at a Bank Holiday weekend. The on line booking was quick and easy and we got a room for £46, plus £66 on the Friday. We were on the 4th floor which was very quiet. The hotel has apparently only been open for a few weeks so the room was pristine. The bed was very comfortable and there was a choice of pillows. Breakfast buffet (£8.50 extra but worth it) could get busy at weekends but the food was freshly cooked and hot. Even the toaster gave me the right shade of brown!! The only fault we could find is that the very young staff are trying a bit too hard, and being told to cheer up in our circumstances was a bit upsetting.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the east side for quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyEastbourneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here just one week after the hotel opened and the staff, room and food were second to none, i would highly recommend this particular Premier Inn, i payed 39 pounds for the room for the night and premier breakfast which was a buffet style but the choice was immense and so freshly cooked .I favour thius hotel over all the others inc Travelodge as we have stayed in several travelodge hotels down this way over the last two years (visiting Monkeyworld) ( highly recommended to all ) and they are not a patch on Pemier Inn.I personally am quite happy to pay the very fair price for the cleanliness, comfort and staff assistance at the premier from now on.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed here on 4th and 5th May for a weekend away with my husband and 2 sons. Excellent value. Room lovely even with 2 extra beds , still space to move around.Very clean.Everything you could want in the room.Breakfast a real bargain as the children ate free.Only one small complaint was on the Sunday morning it was chaos as there were so many people having breakfast, not enough staff .. felt sorry for the chef as he was coping all alone cooking breakfast for about 200 people .. but the waiting staff stayed very cheerful and very helpful throughout. food fab though!
Must be one of the best premier inns in GB.Excellent location , with lots of restaurants and obviously more to come when the building work is finished.
We parked in the large town car park just round the corner and it cost £2 for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

if you are looking for disabled accessible clean accommodation. then look no further. wheelchair accessible shower rooms on request( advised to pre book) extra bed if needed for carer when using family or double room. cost is all inclusive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed her in April, two weeks after hotel opened. Well situated - 5 minute walk to town centre (tho not much there). Secure underground parking at £2 per day is a bargain and worth booking as hotel gets busier as its not large car park. Can drop luggage off at hotel before parking. Small restaurant with limited menu - wouldnt bother eating there as "food court" round corner with nandos, carluccios open at time of visit with wagamama , pizza place and zizi (i think) all near completion. Pub at bottom of road does food all day as well.

If you arrive by train, station is direclty opposite and cab rank outside hotel.

Very limited mobile phone signal in hotel. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Had room to right of lifts (220) in a little corridor of its own - larger than average and no passin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b00sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
161 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
115 reviews
5.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Address: 5 Pope Street | Brewery Square, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range: £46 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing