We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Booked this 3 night stay from USA. Had to illegally park outside hotel as unloading area full of construction vehicles. Was not told about lack of parking until we arrived -parking not far but not fun in pouring rain lugging 2 cases out of car park, across 2 busy roads. Car park good value at 2 pounds per day, but it meant getting to the car park each morning before 8 to apply a ticket...I did ask if we could pay the night before and was told no. Parking free in car park between 6pm and 8am, but 60 pounds fine if no ticket between 8am and 6pm. Reception infrequently staffed and took 2 hours and 2 trips to get cups, glasses and coffee on our 2nd day. Front desk staff very cheerful when they were there, they seem to work the restaurant too??? Not particularly knowledgeable about parking etc. Rooms super clean, basic..no 'phone; no clock!!!ll no iron or board...but cheap and great location. Carluccio's very near and delicious. Would return next trip if parking improved ..could not park outside again when we left so more lugging of cases. Noisy from builders during day, had to leave one day as drilling was so loud, but this will not be forever, just while Brewery Square being completed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at this newly opened hotel on 10 May as we were in Dorchester to visit Monkey World the following day. The hotel has only been open around 5 weeks and is very fresh and new. Some reviewers have complained about the card access to the lifts but we didn't find a problem with this. We had booked a disabled access room and it was huge with a lovely large bathroom (shower over bath though). The bed was queen size and there were a choice of pillows available in the room rather than having to ask for extra. Tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, soap, shampoo etc all available in room. A small flat screen TV but fine. The hotel is in a construction area as the Brewery Square is being built around it. We had no problem with noise though even though we were on the first floor. Once it's finished it's going to be lovely around there. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had pre-paid breakfast with our booking (£60 B&B with booking.com); this was self service - food was fine, hot and plentiful and again the staff were extremely helpful.

So nothing bad to say - will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilliport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is a new inn recently opened, situated near the train station and within walking distance from the town and local attractions. The complex being built around it is fantastic, Italian restaurants and others, cinema and a beautiful featured fountain area, where you can sit and watch films on the large free screen. Initially on arrival signposting to the inn was poor and parking is very limited (we weren't aware of pre booking car parking until we got back and I undertook their on line survey). Other businesses were in construction process nearby, however on website this was explained, so we expected this. Staff were courteous, helpful and genuinely showed an interest in ensuring a pleasant stay (we had booked in for 5 nights). We had a meal in The Kitchen (the inn's on site restaurant), the food was tasty, well prepared and served and the Head Chef was knowledgeable of his dishes (however although food was good, the choice was limited-could do with a bigger menu). Breakfast times although we pre booked - non booked guests were prioritised over us, which was disappointing and it was very busy and we had to return twice on one morning to be seated. Table planning needs to be looked at, as we was placed on a table near the island 'help yourself buffet area' only for people to knock us whilst we were eating and one guest upset a drink on me (didn't even apologise). On one particular morning the noise (drilling) was so loud, it vibrated the tables, which did spoil a conducive pleasant eating experience (feel that construction managers need to be more considerate and communicate with inn's staff).
Our room was exceptionally clean, however not enough natural light and we couldn't open the window - air conditioning is installed. Construction wasn't supposed to commence before 8am - however we were woken on two mornings by works next to us (once at 645am and the other at 730am) - however we did complain and the staff reimbursed us for one night's stay and apologised (but I need to state that this was not the staffs' fault-it was construction managers). Also on the last night the guests above were very noisy, very heavy on their feet (the metal light fittings were vibrating and these made an awful noise - like an alarm clock going off) this was at 2am. Pipes also knocked when hot water was being used.
However the staff especially Bruno and Alex and the Head Chef made our break very enjoyable and were more than helpful and the location of the inn has been well placed. I'm sure these are teething problems and will be sorted and we intend to visit again in June. PS pay a visit to the Italian restaurant Zizzi's atmosphere and food very pleasant (sat outside on the terrace in the sun drinking bubbly and watching the fountain and screen in the square).
Well worth a stay, this premier inn is going to be one of the most popular - I'm sure!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria209011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Have stayed at numerous Premier Inns so interesting to stay at a brand new one. This one is in a good location for the train station & a short walk into town. There were a few things that let it down during our stay; Reception frequently unmanned with staff rushing down from the nearby restaurant. The use of the lift wasn't explained in detail on arrival; have to hold the key card on the detector until the very small light flashes, fine once you know, but it was causing quite a bit of confusion to several guests. A clear notice in the lift would help. Room was the usual Prem Inn good standard; On two days housekeeping though didn't get the room serviced until after 4.30pm, not really acceptable.
Restaurant was clean & bright, staff friendly & helpful. On the service side, they still seemed to be learning their trade though; messed up the main course order and, the bill. Fairly limited selection on the menu; there are several places to eat a short walk away.
Overall not too bad, but some (teething?) problems that need to be sorted out to ensure consistent Prem Inn good service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed in Dorchester for 3 nights in May to explore the area including Lyme Regis. The Hotel is in the new Brewery Development right next to the Railway Station of Dorchester South.You come out of the Station and into Reception in 3 minutes or so.The young Lady in Reception was very polite smiled a lot which is so important.The Hotel was perfect for us-excellent room and so quiet at night never heard a thing.Top marks to Premier Inn for there choice of the site.
We are off next to try the Premier Inn at Stratford upon Avon.Will post our opinion in due course.PS did not try the in house restaurant as it seems over priced compared to our friends at Wetherspoons where you can get 2 Breakfeasts for less than the price of 1 at Premier.Perhaps Whitbread should review there prices to encourage more to eat in as Wetherspoons in Dorchester was full of Premier customers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the shiny new, just opened Premier Inn at Dorchester, its n good location in the new Brewery Square development and gives easy access to just about everywhere you could want in the town or the region. Checked in on saturday afternoon, friendly enough, given key-card which also controls the lift. Try to go to our room but the key card won,t let us use the lift. Eventually a member of staff helps out with her card, but not before telling us that several people have had a problem with the lifts. During the course of our stay my key-card was changed 3 times and none of the key-cards worked in the lift, but OK for accessing our hotel room. My wife's card worked in the lift occassionally.

Tea-bags, my wife likes a cup of tea but there were only 2 tea-bags in our room, so after she made a cup of tea on our arrival we had none. That evening she asked for more tea-bags so that she could have a cup of tea before bed and another in the morning. She was only given two tea bags and when she asked for a couple more was told that they are only allowed to give out two at a time, so we asked for more later on that evening. The next day we bought some.

This Premier Inn has its own restaurant, breakfast was OK every morning, but on Sunday evening we tried to eat in the restaurant. We arrived at 7.40pm and it took 15 minutes to be shown to a table. The restaurant was not busy, but ths staff preferred chatting to dealing with customers. At 8.05pm our order was taken which included a shared platter to eat while we waited for our main course. At 8.35pm nothing had arrived, not even the shared platter that we wantd to eat while we were waiting for our main course, we gave up, cancelled our order and walked out.

Toilet paper was also in short supply.

These silly niggles spoil what would have been an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bald-Blokes-R-Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We needed a hotel at very short notice due to a family bereavement and Dorchester hasn't much choice especially at a Bank Holiday weekend. The on line booking was quick and easy and we got a room for £46, plus £66 on the Friday. We were on the 4th floor which was very quiet. The hotel has apparently only been open for a few weeks so the room was pristine. The bed was very comfortable and there was a choice of pillows. Breakfast buffet (£8.50 extra but worth it) could get busy at weekends but the food was freshly cooked and hot. Even the toaster gave me the right shade of brown!! The only fault we could find is that the very young staff are trying a bit too hard, and being told to cheer up in our circumstances was a bit upsetting.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the east side for quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyEastbourneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
160 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
113 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
19.8 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Address: 5 Pope Street, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range: £49 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing