We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for exploring the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect location for exploring the area”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We recently visited the fairly new Premier Inn Dorchester.It was our first vist to a Premier Inn and we were very pleasantly surprised.We were warmly greeted on arrival and told the ropes.We were impressed with the cleanliness and how comfortable and spacious the rooms were and excellent value for money.Security was very good in fact you couldn't even go up in lift without flashing your room key card ,so great for lone female travellers
Breafast was brilliant we noticed the chef was cleaning refreshing and topping the breakfast buffet up all of the time ,bacon and sausages were of a very good quality. My only criticism was the plates could have been hot or at least warm.A good choice of Continental breakfast items including cereals,yogurts , muffins ,croissants and fruit were also offered .
The dining /bar area is very spacious ,light and airey .
We were a little shocked by the prices in the bar a Peroni and Appletise was over £9 which was not in line with the value for money for the rest of our stay .
However this hasn't put us off returning which we certainly will.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghiles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    289
    83
    27
    19
See reviews for
329
330
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A good location right in the centre of town with a drop off point just outside the hotel. Parking is just across the road (£2 for the whole day). The building works didn't cause us any nuisance. The whole Brewery Square complex has lots of restaurants (Wagamama, Carluccios, Pizza Express, Zizzis) if the on-site restaurant doesn't appeal. The Odeon cinema in the complex is quite pricey - there's an independent cinema much cheaper in the old town centre. Will be lovely once all the shop units are occupied.

Breakfast was good, but do watch the china and cutlery as their dishwasher didn't seem to be cleaning properly.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The staff are realy friendly and very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and would definatly go back. Location is also really nice with lots of new restaurants near by.
Breakfast was great and the place was very child friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a well positioned premier inn. With excellent facilities on hand such as a cinema, restaurants and a town centre position in an area undergoing urban renewal.

There is some building noise in the morning but it should not affect anyone who keeps their windows closed.

Another point is that we had to speak to the management about a throbbing / buzzing fan type sound that seemed to be coming from a neighbouring property. It bothered us but eventually we slept through it.

Unfortunately Premier Inn had "faux-pas" in terms of the standard of cleaning which is most unusual for them. I found a mucky pillow that had not been changed although the bed had been changed, there was a hair behind the sink and a piece of food wrapping on the table, a black stain on the inside of the shower curtain and worst of all was finding a "size XXL" pair of green bloomers hanging on the back of the bathroom door.

We spoke to the cleaner in the morning and then the manager who agreed this was not acceptable and invoked the good night guarantee. Both the cleaner and the team leader we dealt with were absolutely lovely and very understanding of our concerns. They cleaned the room thoroughly, changed the bedding and helped restore our confidence.

Apart from the issue with cleaning and the neighbouring fan buzzing we had a reasonable stay. Poor cleaning should be a "never" event as it can shake the confidence of customers. On the plus side the response from management was measured, reasonable and highly professional.

Room Tip: take earplugs if buzzing or a/c sounds bothers you - just in case
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fhall_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

New hotel so everything is fresh and clean. Usual Premier Inn rooms and bathrooms.
Friendly reception and efficient. Good location of hotel as directly opposite the station.
However, there is building work going on outside at the back of the hotel so if you are looking for a sleep in you are likely to be disturbed.
Otherwise hotel is fine. Didn't eat there so can't comment on food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Never stayed at a Premier Inn before. Spotlessly clean and well maintained. Based on this stay I have made a future booking for the Bournemouth Central PI. Very quiet and comfortable bed. Staff helpful and friendly. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanTBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here on a business overnight trip. Great location - right next to one station and a 5 minute walk from the other. Best of all is the development that has take place next to the hotel so you have your pick of good chain restaurants within a 3 minute walk - Carluccios, Pizza express, Zizzis, Nandos, Wagamamas etc. Also a cinema right there too - so great for an overnight stop. Staff good at hotel and clean as I would expect

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodEvans8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
182 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,041 reviews
19.8 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
7.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Address: 5 Pope Street, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing